iPhone [beta] Upscale is incredible to resize DPI

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by thadoggfather, Nov 6, 2014.

  1. thadoggfather, Nov 6, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2014

    thadoggfather macrumors G3

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    It won't up the physical resolution of course, that's only if you believe in snake oil tricks. iOS 8 only.

    But it adjusts the DPI, and there are issues with it like dialpad not scaling correctly, weather app animations broken, and some other irregularities (apple wallpapers not accessible until restoring it to native DPI) but I'm sure it will get adjusted and it's fun to play with.

    It even adjusts the DPI of the apple respring logo :D

    If you can't scale, after inputting x and y resolution click x resolution again before apply to make sure it takes effect and always x as smaller resolution dimension otherwise it will cause safe mode.

    850x1511 on my 6 seems REALLY nice. I'm sure 5/5s users could benefit too from tasting iPhone 6 DPI nectar, and 6+ users who find the DPI too small.

    Don't try 6+ resolution on 6, too small/crashes supposedly.

    Also you don't need SB Flip anymore, cranking up the resolution natively enables springboard flip on phones. Interesting discovery.

    this is all regurgitation discoveries found on r/jailbreak but thought I'd share the wealth.

    repo is repo.bd452.com

    seeing is believing:
    [​IMG]
    safari and keyboard (vintagekeys) scaled:
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #2
    Even as a 6 user, this will be great once it's more stable.
     
  3. thadoggfather thread starter macrumors G3

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #3
    Yeah I'm enjoying it quite a bit !
     
  4. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #4
    Beware, though. Some tweaks perpetually safe mode you when you do this. I changed to 850x1511 on my 6 and while it took, it also caused me to get stuck in Safe Mode for all my other tweaks. (I have to admit it looked good) As this tweak modifies encrypted parameters, it's somewhat of a pain to reverse (removing the tweak doesn't restore the phone to its native resolution).

    Anyway, since in Safe Mode, you can't access the tweak settings, you're stuck having to SSH into your phone and run a cycript command to restore your phone's native resolution.
     
  5. thadoggfather thread starter macrumors G3

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
  6. TitsLegendary macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #6
    What tweaks do you have installed? I put my 6 to that resolution and (fingers crossed) haven't had any problems yet.
     
  7. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #7
    Oh god. I want this SO BAD. One of my favorite things I used to like doing with my Android devices was pushing the DPI down. Even on my ol' 3.5" screen it was nice.

    If only 8.1 wasn't so unstable. :( I'm on 8.1.1 and it is so much nicer.
     
  8. BigMar89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    Has anyone been successful in upscaling on the 6 Plus? Not working on my end?
     
  9. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #9
    I'm not sure what tweaks caused the problem, but I wasn't going to go uninstalling all of them one by one. The only one I tried uninstalling was Rotate+ (which enables springboard rotation as well as the landscape dual-pane apps of the 6+ on the 6) since I figured it might interfere with the native rotation that kicks in, but it still didn't work after removing that.

    I am using:
    Rotate+
    Winterboard
    HideMe8
    Homescreen Designer (if I had to guess, it was probably this or HideMe8 that would be the most likely culprits, but I'm not losing either at this point)
    F.lux
    Alkaline
    Activator
    Barrel (also a potential candidate)
    FlipControlCenter
    iWidgets
    GroovyLock (though not enabled at the moment)
    Forecast
    Iconomatic
    BytaFont 2
    ClassicDock
     
  10. cheenofly macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    #10
    Also for those who are using Upscale, if there are a few apps that aren't adjusting to its new resolution. Download the tweak "ForceGoodFit" and enable all the apps such as Messages, Safari, Mail, Instagram, WhatsApp, etc. Upscale is probably by far one of the top greatest tweaks made.

    I'm on a iPhone 5S using the iPhone 6 resolution. No issues, bugs, or crashes.
     
  11. dannyg86 macrumors regular

    dannyg86

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
  12. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #12
    Ryan Petrich also released a similar tweak called LittleBrother that also includes the 6+ rotation features. It doesn't play with Homescreen Designer (that was the tweak that messed up upscale) and it has some bugs still, but should be great.
     
  13. auser1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
  14. that be me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #14
    Which resolution are you using for your 6? 850 x 1511 seems to be popular, but still a touch too small.
     
  15. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #15
    OK. So I removed homescreen designer for the moment (it is the safe mode culprit) and have it set now to 827x1470, which seems to be a great sweet spot. It doesn't allow springboard rotation (which I'm glad of because that kills all widgets) but does enable native iPhone 6+ apps in mail, messages, calendar and Safari (real tabs in landscape!) someone on reddit noted that at 828, some odd things start happening in apps that doesn't happen at 827, so I'm sticking there. It's a really nice balance.

    Really enjoying this, and less buggy than LittleBrother.
     
  16. jt999 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #16
    So I tried Upscale on my 6+ and for me, it made everything too big.

    Uninstalled Upscale and it has left everything scaled too big.
    How do I get my old resolution back?

    Thanks.
     
  17. BigMar89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #17
    Install it back then choose the 6 Plus preset then uninstall again.
     
  18. jt999 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    #18

    Did that again.
    Still looks like this.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1415374530.335365.jpg

    Reinstalled and set to custom - 1920 x 1080.
    Much better but still a bit big.

    Does Upscale modify system files?
     
  19. BigMar89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #19
    Don't do custom, choose the 6 Plus preset.

    ----------

    Don't do custom, choose the 6 Plus preset
     
  20. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #20
    Most people on reddit seem to prefer 827x1472 for best compatibility.
     
  21. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #21
    Anyone experiencing massive battery drain since installing this? I'm dropping like 1% per minute when the phone is active.
     
  22. that be me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #22
    Barely noticeable, but works better for me.

    Thanks.
     
  23. matthew2926 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    #23
    Quick question. I have upscale installed on my 5 and I have it on the 6+ setting. If I was to restore my iPhone without setting it back to the 5 resolution, would restoring it set it back to the default resolution or would it still be on the 6+ resolution? Basically: does restoring in iTunes set back the default resolution? Thanks!
     
  24. XboxMySocks macrumors 68020

    XboxMySocks

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    #24
    No, it does not. DPI stands for dots per inch (I'm assuming you mean PPI, which is pixels per inch. DPI is used in analogue situations such as printing pictures or newspaper cartoons...) and this tweak obviously does not do that. It changes the resolution rendered by the display.
     
  25. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany

Share This Page