Better EDGE reception after 2.0.2

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by pj rage, Aug 19, 2008.

  1. pj rage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #1
    Anyone else notice this? The last few miles into work have been a "no service" area since I got the phone. Occasionally they would grab 1 bar for a couple seconds, but I could never do anything with it (ie talk or download email, whatever). Today, however, I had 1 bar for 80% of the previously dead area and even had 2 bars for a bit. Moreover, I was able to download an app and check email! Something that I've NEVER been able to do with 1 bar on edge if moving in a car. I guess it could be a coincidence, but I was impressed.

    Now if only my 3g wasn't worse, lol. It's doing the intermittent-not-working-at-all-but-works-after-reset thing that it seems others have too. Previously no problems with it at all ever.
     
  2. AustinSTI macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #2
    In...Your....HEAD. THe update did nothing to the reception....
     
  3. Wolf103FM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5C1 Safari/525.20)

    I still have no service, to 1 bar with around 36kbps at my house. But I blame that more on terrain and distance from any tower, as even my Verizon phone gets 0- 1 bars inside
     
  4. gowanis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #4
    i thought EDGE referred to DATA and not your voice signal (bars).

    In Jersey City, NJ I have 5 bars, can make calls no problem, but barely have any data connectivity.

    Can someone clarify ?
     
  5. jonnyb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    I've noticed my EDGE reception is now a steady two bars in a previously horrible blackspot in my workplace - my desk
     
  6. pj rage thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #6
    It's absolutely not in my HEAD. I did admit that it could be a coincidence, but it's not in my HEAD. I'm not imagining that I have bars where I never have before, I'm reporting that as a fact, because it is. Maybe AT&T did something on their end, or maybe it's just the right temp, humidity, etc to receive the signal where I didn't before, but it is definitely improved. Considering over the course of 5+ weeks I have never had signal in these areas, I update last night and today I do, I find it interesting, though. And unless jonnyb is pulling our legs, I guess I'm not he only one. It could still be a coincidence, but unless you have proof that "the update did nothing to the reception" we can still hypothesize that it may be playing a role here.
     

Share This Page