Better Hard Drive or Better Price? (MBP)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by thaloveabove, Jan 15, 2008.

1. thaloveabove macrumors newbie

So I've decided to take the plunge and get myself a MBP. Going to use it for day to day activities such as internet and e-mail, but also for a lot of audio work using Logic Pro 8. I'm just getting into the audio editing scene, though, so I don't really know what specs will hold me back and what will be overkill. Here's what I'm debating over...

I can get a brand new MBP 2.4 GHz with 2 GB RAM and a 160GB 5400 RPM hard drive for $2099 with no tax and free shipping from ecomElectronics. This even beats the price of a refurb since there's no tax and free shipping.

Only thing I'm worried about is the lower capacity and slower hard drive compared to the available 200GB/7200RPM and 250GB/5400RPM drives for new MBPs at the Apple store. Buying a new MBP from the Apple store with a higher capacity/speed drive would run me at least $600 more due to sales tax and higher price alone.

So my question is... do you think it's worth the $600 higher price for the upgraded hard drives (kind of weary to upgrade on my own and void the warranty)? I was thinking it might be good just to get the cheaper MBP with the smaller HD, and eventually get an external HD to store all my stuff when needed. Don't wanna spend extra cash when I don't need to. Could I run a decent Logic 8/daily use machine with the 160GB/5400RPM drive or would I run into significant bottlenecks? Also planning on running XP or Vista with Boot Camp if possible.

Thanks for the help guys. Much appreciated...

2. phungy macrumors 68020

phungy

That site looks a bit sketchy...have you bought from them before?

3. superleccy macrumors 6502a

superleccy

I run Logic Pro 8 daily with that exact same setup. It's perfectly usable. Plenty of times I've recorded 8 simultaneous tracks of live audio; never had a problem there.