BF2 and COD4 via Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by diepc, May 22, 2008.

  1. diepc macrumors newbie

    diepc

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #1
    I have Been unable to find anything on my two favorite shooters for PC. I know they dont make either of them for mac, and i was wondering if anybody has been able to get Battlefield 2 and Call of Duty 4 to Run on a macbook, NOT AN MBP. im waiting for the june release, but if im not satisfied by the release, then il be getting a 2.4 GHz WMB with x1300. the X1300 is the thing that i was most worried about. i have seen PC's Running BF2 and COD4 on X3100 integrated, all the way up to about 40 fps, but i dont know how they got a graphically intense game like COD4 to Run on integrated Graphics.:confused:
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    Its an X3100. The X1300 was an low end ATI card from a few years ago. There is a youtube video of a guy running CoD4 on an X3100 PC. Best he got was 640X480 @ 25fps.
     
  3. diepc thread starter macrumors newbie

    diepc

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #3
    x3100

    sorry i accidentally typed 1300 in stead of 3100. I saw that video on youtube, but i want to know how he was running such a graphically intense game on integrated graphics, and what computer he was running it on,:confused: im guessing it was just the lowest settings possible, but i have heard of problems running BF2 and COD4 on integrated graphics, including the X3100. and i want to know specifically if it will work via boot camp on My macbook. cause if it does, i may not wait till june to get the MB. im not crazy about the supposed new aluminum MB anway.

    Would somebody who has a MB test this
    2.4 GHz
    2 or 4GB RAM
    intel X3100
    Vista or XP Pro
    these would be my preferred settings as they are what my MB is going to be set at, but if you have the 2.1 or the 2.0 and you can get it to run thats great too. i just found a different forum where a guy running a pc w/1.8 GHz core2duo and intel X3100 wit a max recorded framerate of 43 fps.test please
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    If you can wait for the next rev of MacBook (probably in the fall), then you should. It will contain the X4500 which is supposedly 3X faster than the X3100. No matter which way you cut it, a game like CoD4 will be a hard slog on any X3100 machine.
     
  5. ninjapenguinart macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #5
    Go to nzone.com and use the "will my system be able to run this" application when you select COD4 or BF2. That way you'll see how well it'll run it.
     
  6. diepc thread starter macrumors newbie

    diepc

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #6
    thanks ninja, but the whole point is i dont have an MB yet and im trying to decide whether or not to get an MB now or wait until the update, ill probably wait cause i dont NEED one until school starts again. thanks for your help guys, but if you have any info on actually running the games (BF2 and COD4) on windows on the MB, please post it, b/c im definently not getting a pc just to run my two favoite games, and i don't want to spen an extra $700-1500 to get an MBP.:cool::apple:
     
  7. iSquithy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #7
    BF2 port for OS X

    The MB cant run BF2 due to its poor GMA950 graphics card. You would need to have a MBP, to run it.

    Also, I have ported BF2 onto the Mac, you just need access to a windows pc to install the game, then with a bit of magic and some time...it works on MacOS X!!!

    Anybody intrested?
     
  8. diepc thread starter macrumors newbie

    diepc

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #8
    :apple:yes im very interested to get BF2 working on a mac. how? also the latest MB's have the Intel X3100 which is much better than X950. also the next revision of the MB (the one im getting) will probably have the X4500 which is 3 times faster than the current x3100. also the current X3100 will play COD4. I HAVE SEEN IT DONE. on pc's unfortunately, i don't know how it will play BF2 and COD4 on a mac. but tell me how you got BF2 running on osx.
     
  9. iSquithy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #9
    So close....

    Sorry, i have not seen the new spec's for the MB's. Still unsure if they powerful enough to run BF2 or COD4 but the best way to find out is to try them, lol. :eek:
    OK as for running BF2 in MacOS, it has taken me about a week to get it running but now it works very well, and is nearly complete - just need to iron out some bugs with the online bit! :confused:

    For a preview checkout:
    Youtube video :D

    That is version 1 running well, if you want to try that one it is on the green demon (torrent), or you could wait for version 2 that **hopefully** will be complete and fully working! :cool:

    Once i have done that, i will need a new game to work on, and port.

    Any ideas, for a great game that NEEDS to be on :apple:?
     
  10. bluecrow628 macrumors member

    bluecrow628

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
  11. iSquithy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #11
    Crysis

    I would love to have a go at that but i dont think my systems are powerful enough to do it lol, it is a VERY VERY system intensive game, recommended spec:
    :apple:2.2GHz Core2Duo CPU
    :apple:1.5 - 2GB RAM
    :apple:12GG HDD
    :apple:nVidia 8800.....

    I will give it a go, need to get the game first. So will start on it on Saturday!


    Watch this space!!

    In the mean time, work continues on BF2, have narrowed down the on-line problem to be a registry problem with the cd-key so getting there slowly with it now. The download link for version 2 **without on-line play yet** is here:
    Battlefield_2_Modern_Combat_v2.zip

    Please let me know how it works for you, and your system configs if any problems!!
     
  12. iSquithy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #12
    Sorry for long delay

    Well here it is, Battlefield 2 Modern Combat version 4 - WITH on-line play!!!

    :apple:Needs the DVD / CD in the drive to play - no cracks needed anymore
    :apple:Needs the correct CD-Key putting into the registry
    :apple:Screen Size set to 1280 x 800
    :apple:Plays on-line
    :apple:No graphic problems seen

    http://rapidshare.com/files/123857548/Battlefield_2_Modern_Combat_Mac.dmg.html

    You want it, you get it. And Please, let me know how you get on with it!!
     

Share This Page