BF2 on MB issue

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ElliotMcKinley, Oct 30, 2007.

  1. ElliotMcKinley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #1
    Hey all. I've been searching the entire site (and many others) for a solution to this problem.

    I installed xp on my partitioned leopard macbook (NOT MBP) and had no issues when following the directions. The partition is 10gb large.

    I'm running:
    1.8gz
    512mb of ram,
    on my MacBook (I know, I know. I'll bump up the ram soon)

    I went out and bought Battle Field 2 (complete collection) and installed BF2 and BF2sf.

    When I start either, I get the BF2 loading page. It goes away, and the screen goes to black. Right when I start to expect an intro vid, it goes away and I'm presented with windows again.

    Can my MB even run this game? I read something about "integrated graphics". Is this the problem?

    Thanks a lot all,
    Elliot
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I'm struggling to find the correct compatibility list from Intel but I do remember that Battlefield 2 was listed as unplayable using the GMA 950.

    Don't expect much from integrated graphics.
     
  3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
    Yeah, I doubt a game like BF2 will run on your comp because of its integrated graphics, sorry...
     
  4. ElliotMcKinley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #4
    BF2 won't even let me TRY to run it. Is there any way to trick it or anything like that? That was mentioned in another forum, but not expanded upon.

    I'm not looking for high settings, if that's an issue.

    Or will it just not work, period?
     
  5. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
    I doubt it would work at all without a video card.
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I have to agree. Even with the software emulation of hardware there are some games the refuse to run without dedicated hardware.

    You mileage may vary trying this application.

    I've gotten it work before for testing purposes.
     
  7. ElliotMcKinley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    #7
    I've learned how this program works, but it doesn't want to load BF2 for me at all.

    It doesn't even start the .exe. The splash screen doesn't come up.
     

Share This Page