BF2142 (Mac version) Keep Crashing

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by AkiNikoTanTan, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. AkiNikoTanTan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #1
    I just got hold of one of these, i installed it, ran it a few times. Upon startup, its able to run at least once but it will show an error message saying "BF2142 has quited unexpectedly", although it is still running, i can just ignore the message and continue. However, if i want to edit the video settings, i would need to restart the game if not it will not take effect, and after i restart it, it will not start up anymore until i restart my mac. The icon will not bounce anymore, instead if i click on it, it will prompt me to "force quit" :(:(

    I tried to searched for any update patch, but apparantly its the latest version (v1.25).

    Can anyone help please? Thank you
     
  2. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2
    I plan on picking on of these up when they are officially released Tuesday...I will let you know how mine goes...is you video card meeting the specs?
     
  3. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #3
    How are you playing this? With an unoffical version of Cider? If so, that wont get you much support here.

    The mac version supposedly isnt out until Tuesday.
     
  4. chilipie macrumors 6502a

    chilipie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    Englandshire
    #4
    I've found the Battlefield series to be buggy as hell - I've been playing 2142 (courtesy of Boot Camp) since a few weeks after it came out, and, even after 5 huge patches it still crashes/freezes on a fairly regular basis. It can be enormous fun, but sometimes it's just not worth it, after having to restart the game several times in an hour.

    If you're interested, I'm running it on a base 17" CD iMac (1.83, 128mb X1600), with an extra stick of RAM to up it to 1.5gb.
     
  5. AkiNikoTanTan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #5
    its already available in here (Singapore), its the original one i got hold off.
    Being paid that much, i expect it to run normally.
    By the way, i am using Macbook Pro c2d with x1600 128MB VRAM.

    do let me know if you guys have any problems
     
  6. CrescentEdge macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #6
    My biggest issue with the game is the lack of widescreen support. I can't get it to run natively on my 20' Cinema display and to be honest, it looks pretty bad with black letter box bars on the side of the screen.

    Apparently there is some way to get it to run in widescreen on windows, but it's still not perfect as the game has to "cut" off part of the image to fit it correctly.
     
  7. rectangular macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    #7
    I have a macbook pro SR with a REAL purchased copy of the game at an apple store and am having pretty bad crashes… it's pretty annoying.

    Any ideas/solutions yet?
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Cider has been known to be very crash prone. Hopefully we'll see so patches.
     
  9. AkiNikoTanTan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #9
    if i had did more research before i purchase it, i would probably not buy it ..ahahaha..

    Anyone wanna exchange it for a Quake 4?
     
  10. rectangular macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    #10
    I have been running the game on my MacPro now with no hitches whatsoever… interesting!

    Perhaps a driver issue with macbook pro?
     
  11. TrickyX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #11
    Same Issue Here

    I have a Mac Pro and am having the exact same issue. It says it crashes when it starts, but after saying close the game starts. It runs just fine, but if I quit for whatever reason, I can't restart it. The Game just goes to not responding every time you try to launch it. I would at least like to know what process I can kill so I can rerun it without rebooting the computer..

    Anyone else? I can't find jack on the EA forums about it yet.. Already bought this game twice to promote gaming on the Mac, once for XP, now for OS X. EA better not F%#$ me.. :confused:
     
  12. TrickyX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #12
    Fix for reboot problem

    Ok, after figuring out what processes are being kicked off here. After quiting the game, go into activity monitor and force quit the wineserver process. This is what is causing the problem. You still get the error message when it boots but just close that. You can play this way over and over without rebooting. Hopefully they will patch this soon, but this works for now.
     
  13. Dyuta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    #13
    These issues are really disappointing. With the iffy performance coupled with the apparent inability to force widescreen resolutions (as I would in Windows by editing the command line)...

    It's disappointing to say this, but perhaps I'd be better off just buying the PC version and running it via Boot Camp.
     
  14. AkiNikoTanTan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #14
    Hi people, let me show me how did EA tried to resolve this issue for me in a damn stupid way:

    Dear Nicholas,
    Pse try the below mentioned and revert soonest possible.


    In Mac OS X, click on “Go” on the top menu bar.
    Select “Computer”. This will open up a window named “XYZ’s Computer”
    where XYZ is the user account name.
    On the left-side panel, look for an icon with the user account name e.g.
    XYZ. Click on this icon.
    A folder named “Library” should appear alongside other icons/folders in
    the right-side panel. Open this folder.
    There should be another folder named “Preferences” within. Open this
    folder.
    There will be a folder named “Battlefield 2142 Preferences”. Delete this
    entire folder by right-clicking on it and selecting
    “Move to Trash”.
    Insert the Battlefield 2142 DVD into the drive and start the game. The game
    will create a new set of default settings on startup.


    Best Regards,
    EASG Support

    In Mac OS X, since when we have a "go" icon.. LoL~! I did managed to get into the perference folder and deleted everything, but it doesnt help at all. I am demanding them to give me a full refund if they cant resolve this within the next 3 working days. EA if you dont intend to make good games for Mac, dont make any, seriously -.-||
     
  15. Akebakkken macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #15

    Hey man.
    I bought the game aswell last week(Singapore aswell) and I've been having trouble ever since.

    I start the game and everything works perfectly for maybe the first 15 miutes. Then it kinda freezes for maybe less than a minute, before going back to normal. Then after a few minutes everything freezes, the sound starts skipping. Has happend everytime I have played.....

    I have a 4 weeks old MBP 15.4", 2.4ghz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, 256 8600M GT card, and all the drivers are up to date.

    I heard rumors that because the MBP gets so damn hot it might be overheating when playing these games, but I have used fancontrol and it runs at about 70c+ during gametime, so im quite confused.

    Any suggestions to this kind of error aswell?

    Cheers.
     
  16. colocolo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #16
    Go menu in Finder:

    Finder File Edit View Go
     
  17. fblack macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    If you do a search on the net, it seems that BF2142 has had plenty of issues on the PC side too. Some people have weird lagging issues in game, some the game quits to desktop, in some cases game does not seem to see the cd-drive, etc...
     
  18. TrickyX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    #18
    Not PC Related

    This really has nothing to do with any issues on the PC Side. I have BF 2142 for Windows. It runs perfectly fine on 64-bit XP and 64-bit Vista, running on the same Mac Pro Hardware..

    It runs like crap because they did a crap job porting it with Cider. Hopefully these issues can be worked out.

    I bought it to support Mac gaming, but it blows compared to running it in Windows at this point.
     
  19. AkiNikoTanTan thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #19
    The problem why BF2142 for Mac is so f#%&@ up is that, they dont make a delicate build for Mac using OpenGL (which is used in games like WoW), the game is converted using cider and was built based on directx which cause it not to function well in non-ms platform. -.-|||||
     
  20. erikistired macrumors 6502

    erikistired

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Location:
    (770)
    #20
    the game is buggy on windows. add in a buggy cider, what do you expect? i'm staying far away from this game, especially since EA still doesn't support widescreen.
     
  21. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #21
    Got this today, installed it and trying online but keep getting kicked off - apparently a punkbuster error.

    I used to run PB updates on my pc manually, but since this is some sort of port, how am I supposed to update it in 2142 on the mac???
     
  22. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #23
    Thanks so much - that worked perfectly. Not sure why the game wouldn't auto-update. When I used to play PB enabled PC games, it would check and download updates on its own.
     
  23. mussakcre macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #24
    I tried the PBsetup file but I am unable to select the BF2142 file. Can someone help me figure this program out so I can update my PB.
     
  24. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #25
    I don't remember specifically, but I think you drag it from the finder into the little square box. Of course maybe that was the C&C3 patch I applied a couple days ago.

    I don't remember having any trouble - what exactly is the problem you're having?
     

Share This Page