Bf3 on 2011 MBA?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by zarmati, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. zarmati macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone tried bf3 on an 13" i5 MBA?
    If so , how does it run?

    Thanks
     
  2. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #2
    You know you will probably get a bunch of folks stating you shouldn't be gaming on a MacBook Air...but I heard the requirements for BF3 are pretty tough. You probably would do better with MW3 on the Air because they optimize the graphics a lot better for lower end systems. I think Rage is probably another good game for you on the Air due to optimization. If you get BF3, please post how it runs!
     
  3. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #3
    I seriously doubt it will run on intel graphics. My 360 can barley handle the beta. A lot of modern gaming machines even needed upgraded to play it. However download the beta and see if it works.
     
  4. nonameowns macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
  5. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
  6. Risasi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
  7. Ganksta1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #7
  8. marrzie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
  9. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    with no disrespect you'd better search for some basic knowledge about graphic card, gaming. it's shame you don't even know what to do. come on. however, I am pretty sure that you can't run BF 3 on your thin laptop. you can't. don't even try. your intel HD chipset will be blown. your mac is good for light game like flash based, or some old games which made before 2008 or 2007. with lower video setting, gaming is totally pointless. why didn't you buy some powerful PC or MBP 15 inch? you didn't know that you will play game on? that's a big excuse, dude. honestly, with MBA price tag, you can get relatively powerful good laptop PC to run every game with high setting. Asus, Acer are the good examples along that price point. you didn't know something wasn't right, when you asked this with MBA?
     
  10. zarmati thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #10
    Well , considering you can run SC2 and Diablo 3 on the MBA maybe I thought you can run bf3. I know it demands a good graphics card. I was just wondering if someone had already given it a try.
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    D3 hasn't been released yet.
     
  12. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #12
    I'll say this much about buying gaming laptops - you have to be very careful. I just bought an Alienware and returned it because it had a faulty logic board. The problem with buying these Window laptops is that they seem to have a higher rate of failure and defects than Apple laptops. If you don't mind dealing with poor customer service and support, than a gaming laptop is ideal. Also, another thing I noticed is that some of these manufacturers use a great graphics card and max ram but put on the crappiest displays I have ever seen. My m11x display was so bad that if I moved my head just a little away from the sweet spot, everything would start looking washed out. It is like looking at one of the nintendo 3ds screens where if you move your head just a little, you lose the effect. I would say you should either get a desktop gaming system instead of a laptop for heavy graphics or get an iMac or 15 MBP with a dedicated graphics card. At least you know you will get decent graphics, a quality screen and excellent customer service and support. That's just my opinion.
     
  13. Risasi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #13
    Here you go: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twznGNY448A

    This guy has a 13" MBP with 8GB of memory (bumping the video memory from 384MB to 512MB) and an SSD. He still can't run it well enough that I would call it playable.

    Again, BF2 + Project Reality (alright, you don't have to use PR, it's just my pet mod). Should run just peachy. I think you'll be impressed.
     
  14. westero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    #14
    MBA is more powerful than you thinks, It doesnt run on Atom,has new i5 processor.

    Not to mention I can run TF2 and CS:S on my MBA both on High, with no lag or disruption online. If I get BF3 i would run it on my Windows 7 desktop. Which I use for MW2 and Crysis etc.

    But if anyone has an answer about them ACTUALLY trying it on there MBA it would be appreciated. :) thanks.
     
  15. Buildbright macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    #15

    You better search for some basic info. Your chipset will be blown? Are you a hate mongerer? or just plain ignorate.
     

Share This Page