BF3 on MBP 2011 15"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Meetster, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. Meetster macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #1
    Just wanted to inform you that Battlefield 3 is working on ULTRA settings with 30 FPS + on the early 2011 MBP 15" 2,2GHz Model.

    What did I do?

    - buy 8GB of RAM ;)
    - install them
    - Install Windows 7 64-Bit on Bootcamp
    - De-Install Bootcamp ATI drivers
    - Install 11.10 Preview 3 Drivers!
    - use ATI Tray Tool to overclock to 750/900 with 0.955V

    Then just install the game and enjoy!!! It's ****ING AWESOME!

    Settings:
    All on ULTRA and 16x AA :)
    Resolution 1680*1050
     
  2. mape2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Giving away sensitive data to EA/Origin is awesome as well?


     
  3. Meetster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #3
    on bootcamp i just have games no sensitive date ;)
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    As if Origin is different from pretty much any other service in which you give your personal information to.
     
  5. Meetster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #5
    well yeah with Origin it got really worse... now EA is not only leader in FPS games but also in using pointless/useless/crappy external programs for starting a game :D
     
  6. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #6
    Still it searches your hard drive for anything. That should be classifies spy ware and is illegal in many countries yet they put it into the EULA and think they can get away with it.

    I would at least sandbox the damn program and show those fools that it wouldn't help them catch real warez users anyway. It just pisses of everyone along the way and introduces practices into the software world that should be (and sometimes are) illegal and discouraged.
     
  7. SpazzyMac macrumors regular

    SpazzyMac

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #7
    Well, I wan't proof that it runs 30+ on those settings :rolleyes:
    Multiplayer or singleplayer
    Prove it somehow :p
     
  8. Meetster, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    Meetster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #8
  9. SpazzyMac macrumors regular

    SpazzyMac

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #9
    AFAIK BF3 beta did not run on ultra settings but medium :eek:
     
  10. Meetster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #10
    BETA wasn't opmtimized NO1
    BETA was limited to graphics so even if you put ULTRA on it it wasnt ULTRA it was still MEDIUM
    BETA wasnt the time were there was 11.10 Drivers optimized for BF3!

    I say it runs on ULTRA without LAG and with more than 30+ FPS with my SETTINGS on bootcamp with 11.10 Drivers, OVERCLOCKED and with 8GB of RAM. If you miss one of those things it wont run smooth!
     
  11. SpazzyMac macrumors regular

    SpazzyMac

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    Looks like, that I will be a happy owner when I get the game then :D
    but then again while playing multiplayer or singleplayer?
     
  12. Meetster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #12

    I'm talking about playing Caspian Border with 64 players on the map! who the **** cares about Singleplayer ;)

    Well then add me later when u get the game:

    Elitefredy
     
  13. MVRL macrumors regular

    MVRL

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #13
    My mbp won't get here til the 2nd ><

    Could you check how much fps you can get with med and high settings please??

    Kinda hoping to get 60fps min with med settings with aa/af off.
     
  14. Meetster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #14
    yeah u get 60 fps already on ULTRA when not in open land like caspian border. but with medium and no AA u will have 60 fps and more where ever u are :D
     
  15. SpazzyMac macrumors regular

    SpazzyMac

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    Curse you for making me buy the game earlier than I actually planned to :D
    because of my slow internet connection I'll have to wait for ages (5hours) :(
    but where did you get the 11.10 preview 3 drivers?
     
  16. MVRL macrumors regular

    MVRL

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #16
    Sounds great, i'll take ur word for it.

    see you on the battlefield sooooon!! :cool:
     
  17. Jeff5886 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    #17
    PLEASE tell me how to De-Install Bootcamp ATI drivers
     
  18. Kiname macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #18
    Done the same exact thing here....yet im looking at ~20-25 fps?
     
  19. Meetster, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    Meetster thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #19
    Here is the tutorial how to install 11.10 preview 3!

    http://www.hardwareheaven.com/mobil...9-display-drivers-notebooks-28-09-2011-a.html

    just instead download 11.10 preview 3

    http://downloads.guru3d.com/AMD-Cat-11.10-Preview-3-(8.901.2-October-16)-download-2801.html

    Here's another Thread about overclocking the 6750:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1142028&highlight=turbo

    They even run it on 800/1050 but I would go with 750/900 +/- 20 not more to be sure :)

    I forgot to mention i'm using:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1203927&highlight=throttlestop

    to stop the CPU Turbo Boosting :) else it will overheat and then it will throttle down :D so with that u gain atleast 5 FPS and you dont have FPS drops that often because of heat
     
  20. SpazzyMac macrumors regular

    SpazzyMac

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #20
    Throttlestop.
    since I don't have a external monitor should I be using it?
    BF3 gameplay is awesome :cool:
     
  21. WonkyPanda, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    WonkyPanda macrumors regular

    WonkyPanda

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #21
    I'd like to note that, even with a gpu floating around 85C, your cpu will still be running around 2.5ghz which is an improvement over locking it at 2.2ghz.


    EDIT: After testing myself, i'd like to strike my first comment. It seems, unsurprisingly, BF3 is extremely taxing on the CPU than most games and allowing it to turbo will result in the cpu being throttled to about 2.0 and 1.9ghz. It is best to lock throttle stop at 2.2ghz (no turbo) for BF3
     
  22. SpazzyMac macrumors regular

    SpazzyMac

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #22
    what I have found out so far.
    775/875 at 0.955v but will try 775/975 at 0.955v later tonight (runs well on Crysis 2)
    22x100Mhz = 2.2Ghz
    ultra settings as you say fluctuates around 20-25 fps and rarely hits 30+ unless i look down all the time :p
    medium settings without MSAA and AA set to 2x fluctuates around 45-60fps (if it wasn't low settings :p ) but it is more stabil with throttlestop and the game seems smoother somehow, I don't know if it's placebo :rolleyes:
    but I used FRAPS to measure my framerates since the ATI tray tools thing doesn't work, and I forgot how to show in-game fps, like the one in the beta :)
     
  23. MVRL macrumors regular

    MVRL

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #23
    Not too bad, med settings without MSAA gets around 45~60fps.. Thanks for testing it out!! I suppose that's how I will run mine when I get my MBP.

    btw, "Render.DrawFps 1" is the in-game command
     
  24. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

    teknikal90

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #24
    this is encouraging...im iffy about OCing my gpu though....is it absolutely necessary? will it void the warranty???

    thanks.
     
  25. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #25
    will it run decent on my MBP?
    AMD Radeon HD 6490M

    rest of specs in my signature


    edit also does anyone recomment a controller for these type of games i also play a few NES emulator games so i would like a controller that can also work for them

    thanks
     

Share This Page