BIG bug with 3.1 beta - iPod app doesn't work

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by petemwah, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. petemwah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    #1
    hey guys, i know it's beta so please don't moan at me for pointing out bugs, but just thought i'd raise what seems to be a BIG issue with the latest beta (3.1).

    the ipod app doesn't work on a number of people's devices, so far seems to have affected iphone users. just do a search on twitter and you'll see the number of people who have encountered this problem (myself included).

    anyway, i appreciate it's beta software, so bugs are expected, but this is certainly a biggie i thought i'd mention.

    it looks that restoring your iphone to 3.1 sorts the problem out somewhat, but certainly for many of those who upgrade rather than restore, this seems to be an issue...
     
  2. Mikey B macrumors 65816

    Mikey B

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    the island
    #2
    This is a pretty common issue with the 3.x betas. Just sync your phone to itunes and it will be fine.
     
  3. digitalfx macrumors 6502a

    digitalfx

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #3

    This is for developers, not users. If you find a "bug" you should be reporting it to apple.

    FYI- Its not a bug, its Operator error. Sync your phone...or better yet, follow the update instructions.
     
  4. JGruber macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    #4
    Odd.. I have 3.1 on right now, and am listening to some All That Remains via the iPod... no issues with 3.1 as of yet.
     
  5. alexmadison macrumors member

    alexmadison

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    Johnstown, NY
    #5
    When All else Fails...read the instructions.:)
     
  6. petemwah thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
  7. abemonkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #7
    Still not working for me

    I've synced my phone. Deleted all the music off of it. Still not working? Any advice?:(
     
  8. petemwah thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    #8
    If it's still not working I'd recommend a full restore to 3.1 and restore from backup? The sync trick worked for me though... x
     
  9. NYR99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #9
    I LOVE All That Remains! Have you ever seen them live? They're amazing. Have you ever listened to As I Lay Dying?
     
  10. abemonkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #10
    Still not working

    I wiped it clean with a 3.1 restore. The restored from back up. Still no go on the ipod. This really sucks. Let me know if anyone has any other ideas.
     
  11. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #11
    yep

    leave the Bata releases alone they are for the Developers to look for bugs and to test and fix there own apps. I am sorry not sure you can go back to 3.0 but that's what I would do and wait for Apple to release 3.1 officially.
     
  12. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #12
    1. Very sound advice. Beta is for testers. However by the context of the OP it seems he/she is fully aware that bugs will be present and just wanted to mention it.

    2. You CAN go back but it's tricky. Last time I did it, it involved creating a custom firmware, loading it, connecting to iTunes and restoring.
     
  13. abemonkey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #13
    Still not working

    I guess I'll just live with the fact that the ipod doesn't work. When 3.1 is officially released that'll fix it don't you think? Or should I just wipe out and start over?
     

Share This Page