Big confusion here, Fusion drive

Discussion in 'macOS' started by becks87, Nov 28, 2012.

1. becks87 macrumors newbie

hi guys,

so i received my SSD yesterday and i installed my OS and some heavy applications on the SSD, and kept the HDD to store my music, downloads etc...

but i was trying to organize my music library and it was giving me problems so i created a "fusion" drive....

but i started thinking a lot about it.... should i keep the fusion drive or re separate my two drives and try the SSD and HDD configuration??

please give me pros and cons!!!

thank you in advance

2. switon, Nov 29, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2012

switon macrumors 6502a

RE: FUDs...

Well,

I have no experience with Fusion Drives, yet ... but from what I read it sounds like that if you don't want to worry about what to put on the SSD portion versus the HDD portion of a FUD, then you should just keep the FUD. Since the FUD promotes/demotes in 128kB blocks and not entire files, you can gain significant speed from its operation without ever even having to think about it. On the other hand, if you are the sort that enjoys ultimate control, then separating your SSD and HDD allows you to specify precisely what is on the SSD versus the HDD. Obviously, this control comes with a time price, as you have to determine what files go where. And since the two drives, the SSD and HDD, will be separate partitions, when you transfer a file the whole file is copied from one partition to the other and thus you will have to remember to manually delete the transferred file from the initial drive. This also means that you will not gain efficiency from the fine granularity of the FUD mechanism (128kB versus entire files), but you will have better control over just which files are on the SSD.