Big Dilemma: Refurbished 2.6 vs. Clearance 2.5

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by parenthetic, Oct 18, 2008.

1. parenthetic macrumors newbie

Hey guys, like most designers/pros around here, I was completely dissatisfied with the new machines, and will now be buying an old MBP. In short, my dilemma is this:

($1799):
    REFURBISHED MacBook Pro 2.6GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    15.4-inch widescreen display
    200GB hard drive; 7200 rpm <------------Superior Drive Speed

or

($1599)
    CLEARANCE MacBook Pro 2.5GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    15.4-inch widescreen display
    250GB hard drive <------------------More Drive Space

I'm a graphic designer and primarily run Illustrator, Indesign and Photoshop. The major differences are in price ($1799 vs $1599) and hard-drive speed and size (see above). What do you think? Again I hate to invest in a potentially faulty GPU but with Apple Care I'm not too worried. Any help would be appreciated as I need to buy before these are all snatched up!

2. SolRayz macrumors 6502a

SolRayz

I would go for the 2.5 w/Applecare as long as the matte screen is available.

3. parenthetic thread starter macrumors newbie

4. jlamb0 macrumors member

I assume the graphics processors are identical?

If that's the case, either one should be fine. The faster drive speed will help, but it isn't the only limiting factor on speed. You have to ask yourself whether it is worth the extra two hundred dollars. Both should be good machines for graphic-intensive apps, and if you find you need a speed-boost sometime later, a RAM upgrade might be a cheaper way to satisfy that.

5. parenthetic thread starter macrumors newbie

Both machines are identical save the aforementioned differences. I'll upgrade the ram either way.

6. CoolMacDude macrumors regular