BIG fan of RTS games

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by outlandos, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. outlandos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #1
    I might buy the new MBP 17'' Hi-res soon.

    I am wondering how well games like Company of Heroes, Supreme Commander and the new C&C run on Bootcamp 1.3!

    I know there are problems with EVE Online and Civ 4, so although I do not buy a Macbook Pro just for gaming, I would love to play any of the previous games from time to time.

    Hope anyone can give me some information! :D
     
  2. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #2
    cnc3

    i have the 128 nvidia version

    ultra high settings, no AA, 1440x900

    ~20fps

    graphics are amazing.
     
  3. Chone macrumors 65816

    Chone

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    #3
    Well I have a Core Duo (not C2D) MacBook Pro 2GB RAM with 256MB X1600 overclocked to 430/430 up from 300/300.

    And yes, Company of Heroes works perfectly at 1440x900 (native res for 15", your 17" will have a higher res) of course its not at max settings but the game looks pretty and the experience doesn't lose any appeal, by the way, Company of Heroes is a really fun game :) Same for Command & Conquer 3, runs very well at native res and around medium-ish settings, it could probably run at high at 1280x800 but its an RTS and a pretty frantic one at that so I favor resolution over eyecandy for this particular genre.

    As for Supreme Commander, I have never tried it on my MBP but it probably takes a great CPU and loads of RAM but you'll be just fine with your Santa Rosa C2D, 2GB RAM and that 8600M certainly won't harm you much either.

    A few notes, Company of Heroes takes FULL advantage of widescreen res allowing you to see quite a higher chunk of the battlefield 4:3 users are not able to. I'm not sure of Command & Conquer 3 but it ran natively at 1440x900 without tweaks and didn't look distorted.

    Cheers and happy gaming on your MacBook Pro
     
  4. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #4
    I almost bought C&C3 a couple weeks ago, but decided to wait, and now I'll be waiting longer since it will be coming to OS X soon.
     
  5. uicandrew macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #5
    i don't think it is worth it to get the Mac OS version.

    they are using cider to translate a very bits of the game. otherwise, it is not a "true port" to the mac platform.
     
  6. aspro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    #6
    To the user it should be indistinguishable, does it really matter how its programmed as long as it works? From what I understand the performance hit from Cedega like technologies is not very large.
     
  7. athimmig macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    I totally second this. On my new MBP-SR 2.4 15" this game is just amazing. I am running at 1440x900 with pretty much full details and so far performance has been flawless in gameplay. It sometimes gets a little choppy durring some of the cutscenes but other than that, I am just shocked at how good this game looks and how smooth it plays on the new MBP-SR.

    Medieval II Total War is also pretty impressive.

    :apple:
     
  8. outlandos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #8
    Awesome, now I really can't wait for my new MBP to arrive! :D
     
  9. CANEHDN macrumors 6502a

    CANEHDN

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    #9
    I run C&C3 on Bootcamp with the original Dual Core iMac. With the X1600 256MB VRAM. With the default settings it runs great. No pauses or skips. If I turn up some the the shadowing ans settings it gets kinda slow but still playable. I'm sure you'll absolutely no problems running it on your comp.
     
  10. Sanderr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    #10
    Does the older C&C (generals), not C&C3, run good on a normal macbook with 2.0 ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 gb ram and a 5400 rpm HD? And what about Age of Empires 3? Can someone tell me?:)
     
  11. outlandos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
  12. RustyM macrumors regular

    RustyM

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    #12
    I've been playing Supreme Commander quite a bit on my new SR MBP. I LOVE IT!!! Gonna get C&C3 soon-ish (might wait for the os x version).
     
  13. GSV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas
    #13
    What is the performance like on Supcom? Are you able to play fairly large games on good detail settings without a terrible amount of frame rate slowdown? I'm dying to play that game, but have to wait until the new iMacs come out, so hopefully they won't be too far off from the specs of the SR MBPs.



    P.S. - I'm jealous! ;)
     

Share This Page