bigadv units on intel core i3 or i5 processors?

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by twoodcc, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #1
    i've noticed that intels newer processors are in stores now. i wonder if anyone has tried folding with them?

    i've read that some of these processors have been overclocked to near 5 ghz, but i can't find anything about folding with them
     
  2. SciFrog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #2
    Bigadv is only for really fast i7 or 8+ real cores...
     
  3. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    oh yeah, i forget you need 8 cores. but the new i7-860 will do it, right? will any amd quads do it?
     
  4. SciFrog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    #4
    Not sure about i5, but fast i7 with 4 real cores plus 4 virtual ones can run bigadv. But SMP2 is pretty good, so you need a real fast i7 to get enough bonus to be worth it.
     
  5. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #5
    well how do you think an i5 650 would do with the SMP2? stock is 3.2 ghz - but i've read they are easily overclocked to well over 4 ghz on air
     
  6. lordonuthin macrumors 6502

    lordonuthin

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #6
    I have a couple of AMD quads and I know they would not be able to handle bigadv units, though it is possible the new chips might work ok. AMD don't have 2 threads per core, so the OS thinks there are only 4 cores instead of the 8 with Intel chips. My phenom II x4 965 did really well with regular units under Linux but now that I have 3 gpu's on it with windows - not so much...
     
  7. twoodcc thread starter macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    have you tried SMP2 in windows yet with it?

    yeah i'm thinking i'll just wait on another system for now. it really stinks that all my folders are down back at my apartment :mad:
     

Share This Page