Bigger hard drive on MB

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Matt-Man-Plus, Sep 1, 2009.

  1. Matt-Man-Plus macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #1
    I'd like to get a bigger HD for my unibody MB. I currently have a time capsule and use time machine for backups. Can I just replace the HD and then restore from TM?
     
  2. Matt-Man-Plus thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #3
    Seriously? It can't be that simple. (forgive me i've been a Windows user untill I bought my MB a few months ago)
     
  3. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #4
    Can you install OS X from a TM back up?! If so, that is incredible.

    But I would think you would need a new OS if you were replacing your HDD. :confused:
     
  4. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #5
    This is embarrassing. The rest of my post is missing. In the one I didn't post I mentioned that the new drive needs an install of the same OS.

    Must have had two windows up and posted the wrong one, or something.
    I remember typing it:(

    edit: I'm kinda chuckling about it now though. I brought up the thread, saw 'Yes', and thought to myself 'what an idiot'.
     
  5. Olivier L. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #6
    Yes, but it seems by default the TM backup is not bootable.
    So to be able to restore the TM backup to an empty drive in your MB, you need to boot the MB from Leopard Install Disk.

    http://blog.duncandavidson.com/2008/01/restoring-from-time-machine.html
     

Share This Page