Bigger performance difference: More RAM or faster CPU?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by swwack91, Feb 20, 2014.

?

Which will increase noticeable performance the most in an 11" 2013 MBA?

1. Upgrading from i5 to i7 CPU

3 vote(s)
    25.0%
  2. Upgrading from 4GB to 8GB RAM

9 vote(s)
    75.0%
  1. swwack91 macrumors 6502a

I'm considering buying an 11" MacBook Air as a secondary computer. I'm a freelancer in the media production industry and have a maxed out 15" rMBP that I use in the office every day. I often need to do intensive video functions on that machine.

I don't like to commute with that laptop every day and have been using a 7-year-old MacBook Pro (C2D) at home. That machine just died and I'm considering replacing it.

From the base model 11" MacBook Air, which would make the biggest noticeable performance increase —*upgrading from the i5 to the i7 CPU or upgrading from 4GB to 8GB of RAM?

Every once in a while, I'll need to use the Air to watch uncompressed 1080p or even 4K footage, but won't be editing or transcoding on it.

2. bgfanauk, Feb 20, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2014

bgfanauk macrumors newbie

i7 may be better

It all depends on your usage of computer, of course.

If you'll do all intensive video function with your rMBP, then there's really no reason for i7.

More ram is usually better for every day general computer use, because people usually like to open several different applications at the same time. Also, the OS's usually like more ram so they can put all of their craps on the background service.

You can look in this way. The data transfers to Ram from HDD, and to CPU from ram, in a nutshell. I mean it's a lot more complicated process if you want it in detail. Anyway, so there's the transfer rate between HDD and RAM, between RAM and CPU, and the processing rate at CPU. Since the transfer rate between RAM and CPU are as fast as CPU processing rate, (thanks to DDR2/DDR3 tech) we can ignore that.