.bin archive infinite loop!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Inspiratron, Jul 27, 2008.

  1. Inspiratron macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    #1
    hello all,

    i downloaded an archive in .bin format, but whenever i use archive utility to decompress it, it just gives me a file with the same, but with .cpgz added!

    e.g. xxxx.bin -> xxxx.bin.cpgz

    when i unarchive the .bin.cpgz file, it just gives me a copy of the .bin file! it then turns into an infinite loop.

    same thing happens when i use stuffit expander.

    any ideas? thanks
    sam w-k
     
  2. jkhoe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    #2
    .bin.cpgz

    i also have the same problem> have you got the answer to it? guys come on help us
     
  3. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #3
    What is it for? If you link to the download I'll take a look at it. I've never heard of expanding a .bin file. It's basically a plain text file.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.bin
     
  4. markvdb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #4
    SOLUTION to infinite loop .cpgz on mac

    It sounds crazy, but this worked:

    These .bin files are apparently a type of "CD disk image". Some people have said to rename them to .iso, and mount them as a disk, but that did not work for me.

    That info lead me to a solution that worked:

    Open the .bin file in Titanium Toast, and actually burn it to a CD.
    Once the CD is burned, you will be able to access the files directly from the CD.
    Presto!
    Mark
     
  5. phini macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    #5
    another solution of cycle from .bin to cpgz

    using vitual machine and the free Windows program ExtractNow. That works, too! You even don't need to burn a CD. It extracts the files on your computer.
     
  6. Bostonaholic macrumors 6502

    Bostonaholic

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #6
    I've never opened a bin file on my mac but in Ubuntu here's what I do:

    Code:
    #make the file executable
    > chmod +x path/to/file.bin
    
    #run it, precede the filename with "./"
    > ./path/to/file.bin
     
  7. fotofill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #7
    If the file ends in .bin, the file can probably be seen by your device. Mine was a router and it saw the file and upgraded.
     
  8. marclapierre13 macrumors 6502a

    marclapierre13

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #8
    Same…I had a router and thought I had to extract the .bin file. But I didnt, I just upgraded using the same file. I know this is an old thread, but hey, I searched for it and found it and solved my problem so someone else may need it too :D!
     
  9. damauikid macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    #9
    Thank you!

    We've been working to get this done - and it was a bit frustrating, all the forums we searched for answers did not work for us... Until we found yours! Thank you for posting. :cool::):D
     
  10. blkoggs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #10
    Help with .bin file...what does upgraded mean?

    Help, I see the answer here but I don't know what upgraded in this context means? Can anyone walk me through how to open this .bin file. It just copies itself.
     
  11. Mikey7c8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #11
    bin just means binary file, it could be anything. If the trick with burning it doesn't work I'd check out where you got it from.
     
  12. Czad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Location:
    perth
    #12
    .bin archive infinite loop! Fixed

    Download The Unarchiver from the App Store.

    Instal and check the .bin option.

    Then right click on your .bin file and open with find the-- The Unarchiver. It might be in the OTHER... option.

    Done...

    A Folder will appear with the real broken-down files.
     
  13. micharadi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    #13
    Excellent! I spent two hours looking for a solution and this page came up. SWEET! It worked flawlessly, cheers.
     
  14. sailmac macrumors 6502

    sailmac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #14
    No unarchiving required

    Another victory for this old thread.

    It was exactly my problem (upgrade firmware in an older router) and exactly the solution (just used the .bin file as-is).

    Good one!
     
  15. AnotherWin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    #15
    Another win in 2013(december)

    Another WIN in 2013 29th december almost 2014
    it works 100% get "The Unarchiver" and do da thing!!!
    :apple:
     
  16. nadeeshan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    #16
    Is this archive about some coding stuff? Or did you download it for any coding purpose? Then you just open it in text editor, you might get the content :)
     

Share This Page