Bioshock and S.T.A.L.K.E.R. on Macbook

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Rmpl, Aug 24, 2007.

  1. Rmpl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    #1
    I see that there's a thread dedicated to gaming on a MacBook but I also see that it's 15 pages long. So my question is: has anyone with a 2.0 Ghz Macbook (1 gig RAM) tried to run Bioshock or S.T.A.L.K.E.R.? The newest game I've run on my MacBook is WoW, which runs very well with medium-high settings. But I don't want to spend money on a FPS if it's going to run crappy or if I need to cripple all the neato visuals.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. sanford macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, USA
    #2
    Don't know about STALKER but Bioshock, according to the *minimum* systems requirements, no way, no how. The onboard video doesn't even allocate enough main RAM to meet the minimum requirements. Not even sure it would launch, let alone run at playable rates.

    STALKER is probably coming to PS3 and 360 eventually. Bioshock is already out for 360 and may according to rumor come to PS3 next summer, as it's a 2K Games property, not a Microsoft property. They just won't talk about it.
     
  3. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  4. Much Ado macrumors 68000

    Much Ado

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I may get a 360 just so i can play Bioshock.

    My MacBook would die trying to run it :(
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Both of those games are in the cream of the crop of current first person shooters. You're not going to be able to run it on a GMA950.
     
  6. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
  7. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Right on, man.
     
  8. Rmpl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    #8
    Thanks guys! Not the news I wanted but it's kind of what I figured. It's too bad though. I'm too casual a gamer to justify buying a 360 and a decent HDTV just to play a couple games. But, thanks again for the info.
     
  9. choffpauir macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #9
    Macbook Air

    While it isn't the same as the gaming experience that you get on a well outfitted desktop rig or even a gaming laptop, the MacBook Air will play Bioshock on the highest settings. Pretty impressive actually. Frame rate occasionally drops precipitously but usually quite playable. As a PC guy I am quite amazed by the lengths to which a mac can be pushed with such modest hardware specs!
     
  10. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #10
    Those are pretty demanding games. Aren't there demos available? Try them on the lowest setting.
     
  11. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    all macbooks (or pro) whatever....

    they are not good for playing game anyway. this is simple. in order to play game well, you need highly dedicated graphic card on board, faster RAM, processor (not need to explain HDD).

    what worst thing about macbook is that it is depended on integrated graphic chip which never helps at all. so you just run yours for normal job like surfing internet, some graphic software, listening music (no need much power for graphic stuff). as you know, gaming is very intense, powerful stuff to exhaust your computer.
     
  12. RRutter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #12
    I doubt either of those are going to work on a Macbook lol..

    You say WoW worked, but WoW doesn't require a good graphics card at ALL, while Bioshock and S.T.A.L.K.E.R. definitely need a graphics card at least 50x better then the one needed for WoW.

    Why am I even commenting on this thread? It's 3 years old :confused:
     
  13. El Cabong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #13
    Yeah, way to go, guys, for resurrecting a 2.5-year old thread. I'm sure the OP has long figured out how to play Bioshock as is waiting with bated breath for the sequel like the rest of us.

    Gaming is great on current Macbook Pros, which have dedicated graphics cards, and most games work fine (with lower settings) even on Macbooks with integrated graphics. So, what are you talking about?
     
  14. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #14
    BioShock demo is available here. I would've guessed it won't like the Air much though... But if choffpauir is right, then I'm wrong :)

    /Doug
     
  15. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #15
    Never heard of that model ... know the Macbook, Macbook Pro and Mackbook Air ... but not the lol.
     
  16. El Cabong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #16
    Can I has Macbook?
     
  17. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #17
    The BioShock game can run on Medium settings if you have a MacBook, Mac mini or MacBookAir with the newer Nvidia 9400 integrated graphics cards (this is all of the newer models).

    So the chances are if your Mac is under 18 months old you will be able to play BioShock fine. A machine similar to yours (and a Mac mini) where used during testing and in fact the 9400 card gives better performance in some parts of the game that some dedicated cards.

    As someone said the game can be found on our demos website, I highly recommend you try it out, if you have a newer MacBook the Bioshock Demo should scream along just fine.

    Edwin
     
  18. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #18
    Runs fine on a (new) MacBookAir, but if you buy the full game you will need to have an external DVD drive to install and play!

    Edwin
     
  19. Ol3s macrumors regular

    Ol3s

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    L'viv, Ukraine
    #19
    I have all 3 STALKERs installed, SoC and CS run smooth as butter, CoP has some minor hiccups but runs well. Played the bioshock demo, also runs well.

    oh **** just noticed your specs, ya your definetly not gonna have them running. sorry :(
     
  20. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #20
    CoP just released in North America today! Hurrah!
     
  21. Ol3s macrumors regular

    Ol3s

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    L'viv, Ukraine
    #21
    Came out in October in Ukraine. Recently (29 Jan.) a Ukrainian localization came out, adding a lot to the atmosphere for Russian, Ukrainian, Belarusian, etc. players.
     
  22. matrixfede macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #22
    Hi everybody, I have the newest macbook air with 9400m and hdd 4200 rpm and 1,86ghz processor. I read on this forum that macbook air can run bioshock at medium setting but on my macbook air i can play only at 800x500 and lower setting and not so well. Do you have some explanation?
     
  23. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #23
    Not really but if you make a support report and send it in I am sure we can have a look into it.

    Edwin
     
  24. matrixfede macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    #24
    Thanks for reply. How can I make a support report? I'm a new in apple world!
     
  25. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #25
    Here you go

    Edwin
     

Share This Page