Bioshock on new iMac 27"?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by jcruz, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. jcruz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #1
    Hi all,

    My old iMac 21" failed the other day and I just purchased a brand spanking new 27" iMac with the following:

    Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac11,3
    Processor Name: Intel Core i7
    Processor Speed: 2.93 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 8 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
    Boot ROM Version: IM112.0057.B00
    SMC Version (system): 1.59f2

    Here's the graphics card info:

    ATI Radeon HD 5750:

    Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 5750
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x68a1
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-B9710C-238
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.417
    Displays:
    Color LCD:
    Resolution: 2560 x 1440
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Built-In: Yes
    Connection Type: DisplayPort
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected

    To my great disappointment, Bioshock is soooo slow on the new iMac it is completely unplayable. It's very choppy at all resolutions/graphics settings. :( It ran perfect on my old 21" at even the highest graphics options. I've searched the forums and haven't turned up much...

    Anyone have any ideas as to why it would run so slowly???

    Thanks,

    John
     
  2. jcruz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    #2
    It turns out that there is a general problem running Flash movies on the iMacs. Once I got past the intros and into game play, performance was fine.
     
  3. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #3
    Make sure you have all your updates to the software installed both mac os and bioshock, heck I play it on a new mini and it plays fine on a 320m gpu.
     
  4. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #4
    FYI if you let Feral know when you have an issue we can work on a fix, however in this case I have read your post and will have a look on a i7 machine in the dev room for you.

    Edwin

    UPDATE I loaded BioShock on an i7 iMac with the new 1GB 5000 series ATI graphics card. The iMAc was running the latest OS with all updates installed the game ran fast from the first menu all the way till you see the first person being killed with a splicer on entering Rapture.
     
  5. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #5
    If for some reason this has something to do with Flash, try updating Flash to the latest 10.1.
     
  6. edddeduck macrumors 68020

    edddeduck

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    #6
    Test machine I used above does not have an Adobe Flash installed only the default Flash plug that comes with the OS.

    Edwin
     

Share This Page