bit scared of doing a clean reinstall - how do I not mess it up?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by jojoba, Oct 6, 2012.

1. jojoba macrumors 68000

I feel my Air has gotten a bit 'buggy' lately and I'm thinking of doing a clean install. However, I've never done this before and I'm a bit scared :eek: how do I make sure I don't mess it up? I back up regularly using Time Machine and SuperDuper, both back up to the same, partitioned external hard drive. I have a lot of my research work on my Air so if I mess this up I will feel suicidal.

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Well for the step is to make sure you have a backup of your system. I'd not attempt any such actions until there's a backup.

3. jojoba thread starter macrumors 68000

So, basically, as long as it's properly backed up, it can't go wrong. Is that right?

4. justperry macrumors 604

justperry

Yep.

As long as there is no fire/flooding/tornado:eek:

5. Mrbobb macrumors 601

Have u ever attempted a TM restore? How organized are your search data, are they just spread over a few folders?

If I were doing this for the first time, I would manually copy my important data to another external drive just in case the TM backup was not done properly, but that's just me.

6. marvin4653 macrumors regular

I use the same backup method (TM and SuperDuper to separate partitions on the same external), and I've wiped my drive a couple of times. My only precaution is to first ensure that the SuperDuper backup is working properly: