Bit torrent has slowed my fibre connection.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by lovehaight77, Jan 18, 2015.

  1. lovehaight77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    #1
    I have just got fibre and it's constantly stopping my connection. I run a lot of bittorrents (Transmission)and my network utility has 20-30 connections. My provider is sky and they says its a problem for apple. When the connection goes dead (browser) the bit torrents still run. Questions-is there a way to run both bit torrent and the browser? and is there way to limit the connections on my utilitys? Thank you
    osx10.6.8
    mac pro
     
  2. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #2
    Are you getting the grey screen, which tells you Safari cannot connect to server?

    If so, it is not an issue with your connection, it's Apple's poor coding of Safari. You will still be connected to the internet. Would suggest you download an alternative browser.

    Happens an awful lot, even when not doing anything else, Safari will stop comminucating with everything else.
     
  3. barkmonster macrumors 68020

    barkmonster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Lancashire
    #3
    Go into your sky router settings via a web browser and change the channel to a different one. I had issues with Sky broadband a while ago and they advised to do this because often a lot of people in the neighbourhood are using the default channel and it can affect performance.
     
  4. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    Some routers has a limited number of connections it can perform within a certain timeframe. Ive had this problem myself, and my old router had a setting where i could raise this number, which fixed it.
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    With any internet connection, if you have your upstream bandwidth uncapped in the torrent client, you may see a dramatically reduced speed. Try setting the upstream limit to something lower.
     
  6. cyb3rdud3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Any decent BitTorrent client will be able to cap the number of sessions and overall bandwidth etc.

    I tend to use my own router instead the one provided by the isp. That way I can also prioritise traffic on my network, for example I was consistent bandwidth available for sip protocols and are happy for others to be reduced.

    Ultimately the choice is your as to what you want to do about it.
     
  7. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #7
    Some UK ISPs block access to torrent sites. Virgin do with me.
     

Share This Page