iPhone BiteSMS issues

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by EvanLugh, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #1
    Ive never understood why people use BiteSMS however the recent update has me glued to it.

    No quick compose on lock screen - yetis there in home screen/NC
    Have assigned a gesture in the meantime but would prefer the little compose 'button'.
    I have checked settings too many times to count. I'm also using LockInfo which I'm guessing could also be a cause? However why would it show in NC?

    Puzzled,

    E
     
  2. EvanLugh thread starter macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #4
    How interesting. Thanks for the photos however I don't get anything showing when pressing volume buttons up/down
     
  3. UngratefulNinja macrumors 68000

    UngratefulNinja

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    ^ did you set it in activator? You have to choose, it's in the help section
     
  4. EvanLugh thread starter macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #6
    Excellent, thank you Sensei. Don't know why I didn't think of that.

    Sincerely a grateful ninja :rolleyes:
     
  5. guitarmandp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    #7
    There are some major issues with BiteSMS and I hope a fix is used.

    I have my phone setup so to activate the quick compose you hit the down and then up volume button real quick.
     
  6. dontpannic macrumors 6502

    dontpannic

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Orpington, Kent, UK
    #8
    Huh? You don't need to set anything in Activator for BiteSMS to work - I've installed the latest version out of the box (fully paid for) and it worked straight away after an install and respring.

    To make that clear - I don't even have Activator installed on my iPhone and biteSMS functions with no problems whatsoever.

    I'm running 6.1.1, iPhone 4s, and biteSMS 7.3 is as stable as any app from the app store.

    If it helps - open biteSMS, click the cog, tap quick compose, and make sure "volume and tap" is switched on.
     
  7. EvanLugh thread starter macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #9
    I had that set to on and it didn't work. Setting it in activator did.
     
  8. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #10
    I prefer a swipe on the status bar. I've set up activator for several button actions as it makes me feel like my buttons will last longer.
     
  9. ntegra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #11
    You guys think its worth $7.99 just to remove ads? It's a great tweak but damn, I wish AdBlocker worked.
     
  10. EvanLugh thread starter macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #12
    No I think the app itself is worth 7.99
     
  11. nellyplatinum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #13
    me and my cousin both bought it last year when they had it for 4.99 on sale,even at 7.99 its still worth it
     
  12. twisted-pixel macrumors 6502a

    twisted-pixel

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #14

    and unlike some apps..you only ever pay once....all upgrades are free...and I've been using this for years..works out at about $1.50 per year for what is a truly great app. So yes...it's definitely worth the money
     
  13. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #15
    Really is a great app. it alwyas shocks me when i go back to the stock apple app. All of thos little things i had been taking for granted in BiteSMS are sorely missed.
     
  14. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #16
    I love the delayed sending and scheduled sending! Great features for me. Plus I like all timestamps. Very handy for me and my job. I also like how I can control the privacy settings on my lock screen vs when the phone is unlocked. Oh and orientation lock is very handy. I hate when the quick compose or quick reply window alternates between portrait and landscape. I keep that **** locked to portrait at all times. Much better in my opinion.

    I bought BiteSMS back in the day when there wasn't a free version to be had. Back then, there was a trial version which had ads but once the trial ended you had to purchase the app. And once you purchased the app the ads would go away. Back then I think it was $6 or $7 if I remember correctly.

    Either way I recommend people buy it because its arguably the main reason I jailbreak. That and CallBar. I LOVE being able to send and receive phone calls and texts inside the app that I'm using without getting interrupted. I hate when I'm stock and I'm forced to close whatever app I'm using just to go and open the messages app to read and respond to a text. But I hate it even more when the dam phone rings and kicks me outta the app I'm using! How rude! Or how I have to close an app just to open the phone app to make a phone call. Haha CallBar and BiteSMS to the rescue!
     
  15. ntegra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #17
    So how long until the license goes into effect? I purchased bitesms but in still getting ads and failure to check license however it says "thank you for purchasing..."
     
  16. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #18
    After a fresh restore and jailbreak, once I install bitesms it instantly confirms my license. Strange it's not instant for you too.
     
  17. EvanLugh thread starter macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #19
    I had to purchase via website, then immediatly went into effect
     
  18. Snide macrumors 6502a

    Snide

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #20
    Interesting. I've always had to go to the settings in BiteSMS app and click Restore to activate the license.
     
  19. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #21
    Indeed. Whenever its a new install for me, when I open bite for the first time I get a terms of agreement Popup immediately followed by an alert that reads "Checking for license..." That runs for a couple seconds then confirms I own a copy. Strange yours behaves differently. Are you logged into your cydia account when you install bite? And is it the same account used to make the original bite license purchase? No big deal. Interesting nonetheless.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    Yep, same thing with mine every year I would just install it and it would check with the server and verify it automatically.
    This year offcourse with the same phone number it gave me a trial version after it installed.
    But after when I went in to settings and did the licence restore then it got the full version verified.
     
  21. ntegra macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    #23
    BiteSMS emailed me fast. If Restore doesn't work, then try Settings > About > Reset all.

    This resets bitesms back to default so remember your settings but it sure fixes any license issue.
     
  22. TheShadowXX, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013

    TheShadowXX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    #24
    how did you get rid of the gray lines/box near the time? via SHH?

    also your slide to unlock looks like it's a different font. Did you change that via springtomize?


    or are you running a theme via winterboard?
     
  23. sassenach74, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2013

    sassenach74 macrumors 65816

    sassenach74

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Location:
    Hampshire, England
    #25
    Hey guys, I didn't want to make a new thread and clutter up the first page, so apologies to the op, but I've just got bitesms, never used it before and I'm just trying to figure things out. One thing I can't seem to work out is how to disable the bubble for the stock message app from appearing in the taskbar. If I get a text, I end up with a bubble for bitesms and a bubble for apple messages.

    Hope I'm explaining myself correctly, just trying to work out how to run this alongside the stock messaging app.

    Neil.


    Edit: Ignore all that. I had to fiddle around with some settings in bitesms and intelliscreenX to get it how I want it, sorted ��
     

Share This Page