iPhone BiteSMS Updates Twice & Cydia Updates?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Squilly, Apr 30, 2013.

  1. Squilly macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    I updated BiteSMS yesterday, only to see that the same update was required again today. Odd. Anyone else having this issue?
    Also, is there a way to get notifications from Cydia when apps have an update? The only way for me to check at the moment is if I open Cydia, it's in the change log. Other ways?
    Thanks.
     
  2. lukejc1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #2
    I have the same issue with bitesms and cydia. I believe the developers are aware of the issue and are working on it.
     
  3. swordfish5736 macrumors 68000

    swordfish5736

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Cesspool
    #3
    Had the same issue with the 7.6.1 beta yesterday. 7.6.2 fixed it this morning though
     
  4. lukejc1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    bitesms version 7.6.2 is in the beta repo now. I just updated and the issue is gone.
     
  5. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #5
    add ryan petrich's beta repo and download curiosa. it'll give you notifications when cydia tweaks/apps have updates
     
  6. Squilly thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #6
    Linky please?
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    rpetri.ch/repo
     
  8. Squilly thread starter macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    Thanks!
     
  9. robdam1001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #9
    +1 for Curiosa


     
  10. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #10
    I had the same issue. I installed the beta version with the beta repo and now I'm good.

    I noticed there was a nc widget in the notifications menu. I toggled it on an don't know what to do with it.
     
  11. nanolife macrumors 6502

    nanolife

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #11
    How about reading the changelog? You would be surprised! :D
     
  12. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #12
    BiteSMS Updates Twice & Cydia Updates?

    I did read the change log, it doesn't mention this version of bitesms.

    I'm on 7.6 beta 2
     
  13. nanolife macrumors 6502

    nanolife

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #13
    That's the only changelog I saw and has it all. ;)

    Beta 2 – Released 30 April

    Fixed up cydia issues (dependancy and showing update)

    Restricted the contact pics we show in the QC Widget to be only favs (defined in Phone app) that also now have a conversation as well.

    Beta 1 – Released 30 April

    NEW: Quck Compose Widget. Just a simple convenient way to launch a Quick Compose with a favorite contact (managed via Phone > Favorites). It’s a Notification Center Widget (managed via Apple > Settings > Notifications > Quick Compose Widget).
     
  14. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #14
  15. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #15
    Where did you get all that? I read the change log.
     
  16. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #16
    Probably from the BiteSMS forum. The changelog I'm Cydia ALWAYS has only shown the changelog for the most recent public release. I don't remember beta changelogs ever being in the Cydia description. That's why you're not seeing it in Cydia.

    People who use bite beta versions more than likely get this update information from the bite forum, including myself. Every single time there's a beta update I always read the changelog and comments before installing just to be safe. It is beta after all.
     
  17. nanolife macrumors 6502

    nanolife

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #17
  18. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #18
    I'm the last one to post in that thread.

    I still don't know how to place a contact in the nc.
     
  19. nanolife macrumors 6502

    nanolife

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Pasadena
    #19
    Open any contact you want to add to NC and while in there, hit the "Add to favorite" button.
     
  20. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #20
    You need to go to your phone app, add contacts to your favorites, then make sure to enable the NC addon in settings just like you do for all the other NC widgets. There are step by step instructions in that thread. If you followed them to a T, then you have a bad tweak installed or something. This new feature in bite is working perfectly fine on my device.

    FYI you weren't the last person to post in that thread, gpsq was. Apparently you didn't click on the link after I posted it. Ill make it even easier for you. Hopefully this will help. Just follow my friend eyoungren's step by step instructions. Like I said, if it still doesn't work something is conflicting with bite on your device.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=17210479&postcount=17
     
  21. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #21
    I so have contacts labeled as favorites but they never show in the nc. I have the widget in the nc, but it's blank.
     
  22. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #22
    These contacts you have as favorites, do they have pictures assigned to them? It only shows the pictures. If you don't have a picture assigned to them in the phone app nothing will appear in the NC. I assume that's the problem.
     
  23. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #23
    eeek!
     
  24. MastahRiz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    #24
    Doesn't the phone number that you put in for the favorites also have to be labeled as being an "iphone," number? That's what seems to work on my iPhone.
     
  25. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #25
    No.

    ----------

    Do you also have a current text session with them?
     

Share This Page