Bizarre Bundle error in Desktop & Screen Saver

Discussion in 'macOS' started by mac4drew, Oct 3, 2007.

  1. mac4drew macrumors regular

    mac4drew

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #1
    My grandma is having a little problem with her Screensavers. We are not able to select any screensaver other than Flurry. When I go to another one, Flurry continues to display in the preview box. When I click on an iPhoto album to do a slideshow screensaver, it displays an error box that reads:
    here's a picture of the error box, even though I doubt it will be helpful...
    also notice the weird CHOOSE_FOLDER which has also appeared out of nowhere.

    [​IMG]

    The other interesting thing it does now is to gray out the Change picture: option at the bottom of the Desktop pane, for all of her iPhoto albums, but not for the standard Apple sets. Here's a picture of that:

    [​IMG]

    I already tried resetting PRAM and trashing plists for Desktop, System Preferences, and Screen Saver, which did nothing except reset the desktop picture back to Aqua Blue.

    I really am at a loss, I have no idea what's wrong with this but I'm hoping there's something I'm just overlooking here... don't think it's very likely that she's deleted the screensavers but that certainly is what it looks like... does anyone have any idea what this is?
     
  2. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #2
    as far as the change picture box, it's supposed to be like that. you can't do that for iPhoto pics. i think it has to be a folder
     
  3. leejandsue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #3
    getting the same screensaver error

    I have tried to move the screensavers to a different folder and made a new folder to see if they would load also, but am getting the same error message. i have a mac agp graphics with the original video card, am waiting on my upgraded 128mb video card. i even tried downloading a new screensaver but no luck. i will try again with the new video card, maybe that is the issue.
     
  4. PhilthyM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #4
    I've got the same issue on one of my machines. It's recently been upgraded to Leopard, I can't recall if I'd tried this under Tiger so unclear as to when it started.

    It doesn't look like this is a widespread problem as that error message doesn't come up often. Anybody have any ideas?

    I'm half thinking about blowing away the current installation and starting with a fresh install (it's that Microsoft Windows conditioning...!)
     
  5. greenerday macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #5
    Desktop and screensaver pref. icon problems

    [​IMG]

    Anyone seen this before? When the icon is opened, the desktop tab freezes up - ultimately I can't change my desktop or screensaver which is annoying!

    Any ideas will be appreciated.
     

Share This Page