Bizarrro RAM issue-newbie question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kcdude, Feb 18, 2008.

1. kcdude macrumors regular

Just got my MacPro and installed 4x2 OWC ram and moved the original 2x1gb. I put 2GB in Slots 1&2 of Riser A, 2GB in Slots 1&2 of Riser B and 1GB in Slots 3&4 of A.

I check system details and it shows 10GB Ram. I use the system for a few days...now I show 9GB of ram A1-2GB, A2-2GB, A3 512k, A4-512k, B1-2GB, B2-2GB. What's up with that? Is there something wrong with my installation? All appeared to be seated in the Riser. Help the newbie here...

2. Peace macrumors Core

Peace

All four 2GB OWC sticks need to be in the top riser.

The 2 1GB Apple sticks need to be on the bottom riser in the 2 slots closest to the gold pins on the riser.

If that doesn't work I'd say there might be something wrong with the 1GB sticks.

3. kcdude thread starter macrumors regular

?? I have seen numerous posts that suggest the optimal config is the setup that I used. Why would rearranging the ram make the system recognize it appropriately?

4. kcdude thread starter macrumors regular

So I remove the OWC ram and install OEM 1GB in slot 1 Riser A and 1GB slot 1 Riser B....A1 shows 1GB and B1 shows 512k. I switch the two and then A1 shows 512k and B1 shows 1GB....do I have a bad ram stick?

I assume I only have one bad stick and when installed with the 8GB it matches the bad 512k stick with 512k of the good stick. If this is the case, why would it show 1.5 gb when I uninstall the 8gb?

5. Peace macrumors Core

Peace

You're right with the config. I read your message wrong.

As far as the 1GB sticks it sounds like that one that keeps saying 512MB is bad and maybe when you put it together with the other one it somehow drags the good one down to meet the memory of the bad stick. Are the 1GB Apple sticks ?

If so call Apple and tell them you have a bad stick.

6. surflordca macrumors 6502a

surflordca