Black Box saying I must restart my Mac

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jblaz, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. jblaz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Ive been having trouble with this issue for a while. Im not sure what it is. I would be using my computer and then a greysih/black box would come up saying i need to restart my computer straight away.

    Can you guys please help me?

    Thanks
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It is a Kernal Panic, possibly a hardware error, have you installed anything like RAM?
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    What you have there is called a Kernel Panic.

    Usually hardware related, i had them in the past with bad ram.

    Do these happen when you do anything in particular such as (un)plug an external device in. Start a program.

    Have you installed any 3rd party ram, is so try reseating it.

    What computer is it, how old is it, how often does this happen.
     
  4. jblaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #4
    Its happened probably 4-5 times in the last month.
    Its a blackbook 2.16 and i got it in when this version came out i think june.
    No I havent installed any ram, or third party applications

    Occurs when just surfing the net, and i think using word
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    That does seem like a lot of times for it to happen, you could try running the hardware teset that comes on the install DVDs iirc. Do you live near an apple store?
     
  6. jblaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #6
    not really, theres no 'actual' apple stores in New Zealand...there are some stores which sell apple, but no specific store

    Ok, ill try that reset on the cd, do i just put it in? is there a menu I need to select?
     
  7. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #7
    Hardware test

    If the test reports back that there is a fault call apple.
    In fact i'd probably call apple anyway becaue the test could well miss the faults.


    If they want you to send it back to them make sure you have a full backup of everything.
     
  8. jblaz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #8
    Cheers,

    So ill give them a call, and say that ive been having a few kernel panics in the last month, what is up?

    And they will advise

    Cheers again
     

Share This Page