BLACK MACBOOK, how much??

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by volitalis, Oct 24, 2009.

1. volitalis macrumors newbie

Hello everyone,

Absolute Apple noob here, so need some help! My Windows Dell died last week after 4/5 years of faithful service and I'm now looking at updating to a mac. I want to get an imac in the new year, after I've saved up BUT I also want to buy a macbook.

A friend is selling a BLACK MACBOOK with the following spec, and I want to know what sort of price people think I should pay for it? I am also eligible for student discount so I could get a brand new white macbook for around £700.

Black Macbook:

2.4ghz, 4gb ram, 250gb HDD, OS X Tiger

Thanks for your help in advance

Volitalis

2. Stiss macrumors 6502a

Not a bad specced machine!!

I love BlackBooks and I'm guessing its Intel so could update to Leopard and Snow Leopard.

I'd pay £500 for it but no more because it's second hand.

3. clyde2801 macrumors 601

clyde2801

ALL macbooks are intel based; plastic portables with the power pc chips are called iBooks.

Try www.mac2sell.net to get an approximate idea of what the blackbook is worth. Nice looking machines, but they're lacking in the video card department; they've either got intel gma950 or x3100 integrated graphics.

4. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

yeah 700 sounds about right for that, but let me warn you, the old plastic macbooks tend to scratch easily and get hairline cracks in a short amount of time. so i suggest buying a used aluminum macbook. and also why would your friend want to sell his wonderful machine? probably because it broken.

5. andalusia macrumors 68030

andalusia

No, he's saying £700 for a brand new Whitebook online, he's asking us how much a Black Macbook of the spec stated would be worth realistically...