Black Macbook...worth it?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by MrMacMini, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. MrMacMini macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal....
    #1
    I have a coworker that just purchased a new MacBook Pro and wants to sell me his Black MacBook for $400. I believe its the Core Duo 2.00GHZ/512SDRAM/80GB HDD.

    Is it worth buying? Its showing some wear, and the camera's not working. Is this still a good machine or should I just hold out and save for a better machine?

    I dont know if its worth to price.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    We don't know either, since you don't provide any helpful information (mainly what you use your machine for). All machines load facebook at pretty much the same speed.
     
  3. kuebby macrumors 68000

    kuebby

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    SFV
    #3
    That's not a bad deal, but like what miles said, it depends on what you're gonna use it for. I'm typing this on the same machine right now and it works fine for what I use it for which is just basic computing.

    If you're gonna buy it I'd try to get it for $325 or 350 though, I bought this one for $420 in October '10 and it's the same except it has 2GB RAM and a 320GB HD, which are both pretty inexpensive (though certainly worthwhile) upgrades.
     
  4. MrMacMini thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal....
    #4
    Sorry for not adding usage info. It will be used basic functions, internet, email, some basic photoshop, iMovie, etc. Nothing to major since I do most of my work on my iMac.
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    That would work fine for you, you will just want to max out your ram to 2gb
     
  6. Mutinygraphiks macrumors regular

    Mutinygraphiks

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #6
    can actually max it out to 4gb ram.
     
  7. kuebby macrumors 68000

    kuebby

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    SFV
    #7
    That's not true. The max is 2GB. Check the specs.
     
  8. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #8
    Neither of you are right! You can max it out to 3GB!
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    If it's a Core Duo like the OP believes it to be, then the max is 2Gb. The 3.3Gb support didn't arrive until the late-2006 refresh.
     
  10. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #10
    Are you sure about that?
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    Yes, I've tried 3-4Gb in a Core Duo Macbook, and it wouldn't boot. Just beeped/blinked out memory errors.
     
  12. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #12
    Positive. Both EveryMac and MacTracker agree on this. First-gen (Core Duo) max out @ 2 GB. Second-gen (Core2 Duo) and beyond all max out at at least 3 GB.
     
  13. MrMacMini thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal....
    #13
    Thanks for the advice everyone, Ill try to offer a little less so I have room to upgrade RAM and HDD if possible.
     
  14. marshallbedsaul macrumors 6502a

    marshallbedsaul

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #14
    I bought a flawless blackbook about 4 months ago off clist for 450
    specs
    2.4
    320 gb HD I believe
    4gb ram
    new battery
     

Share This Page