Black Magic Disk Speed Test

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by macuser1232, Aug 28, 2012.

  1. macuser1232 macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #1
    Hi, I just recently got the Black Magic Disk Speed Tester and I got around 60 megabyte readings for writing and reading. Is this slow? I'm on a Early 2011 13-inch MacBook Pro i5 processor with 8gb of ram. I know this is only for my hard drive but I just wanted to tell you my specs.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Yes, but do note that Black Magic Disk Speed Test has been giving incorrect results based on its feedback and my own general use of it.
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    You can also use the following applications to benchmark the speed of your HDD / SSD:

    Normally modern 2.5" HDDs get 70 to 100 MB/s read and write speed.
     
  4. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #4
    hm. So what causes a slow hard drive? I am really interested to know.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    Age, limits of technology at the time, damaged cable, failing hard drive, heat damaged hard drive (130F+), bad controller, poorly written controller drivers, bad drive firmware
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    As already noted, BMST sometimes reports inaccurate numbers.
    To confirm, that you have a slow HDD, first use the two other applications linked to in post #2 to verify the numbers BMST gave you and then open System Report > Hardware > Serial ATA > to find out your HDD model.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #7
    Well I don't think my hard drive or computer fits any of those. So can I compare my schools with anyone? I am a little concerned about my hard drive's speed(etc.).
     
  8. spoonie1972 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    haha, just remembering the pains i went through with my micropolis scsi UW... had a muffin fan on top of it so it would not set fire to itself. all for.. i think, 23meg/s max. ahhh, memories.
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    Post #3 and #6. And as mentioned, modern HDDs offer 70 to 100 MB/s, depending on model (post #6). Most of my 500 GB HDDs are 5,400 RPM models and get 75 MB/s via a direct S-ATA connection, my Momentus 7200.4 has 7,200 RPM and gets 95 to 105 MB/s.
     
  10. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #10
    Why doesnt AJA let me benchmark my native rMBP SSD or any installed HDD/SSD on my 13" MBP, only external drives?
     
  11. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
  12. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Which will probably be a 5,400 RPM drive, thus a speed of 70 MB/s should be alright. Maybe those other two applications I linked to can verify that. Or the exact model number and a quick www search for benchmarks of that drive can do that too. Or not.
    That seems to be a bug, as I sometimes have the same problem, though restarts seem to fix that, sometimes. Btw, I am using 10.6.8 on both my Macs with both having an SSD and one having an additional HDD.
     
  13. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #13
    Hm Ok. Yeah the black magic disk speed test gave me pretty low speeds but the Xbench gave me around normal speeds like 70(if I read correctly).
     
  14. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #14
    Do a "Get Info" on your installed drive, then, at the bottom, unlock and add yourself to the list, making yourself read/write capable. Then try the test again and it should work.



    -howard
     
  15. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #15
    just did, even rebooted and it didnt work :(
     
  16. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    Different parts of your HD are going to be faster or slower than others.

    [​IMG]

    80-40MB/s depending on whether you are using the inside or outside of the drive.
     
  17. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #17
    oh ok that makes sense now.
     
  18. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #18
    Works for me. No reboot needed. You can also open app as root:
    Navigate to directory of Aja app and:

    sudo AJA\ System\ Test.app/Contents/MacOS/AJA\ System\ Test &
     
  19. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #19
    Same thing, doesnt let me run the native SSD :(
     
  20. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #20
    Hmmmm ... that is very strange. This has worked for every system that I have wanted to run the AJA disk test on the built-in system drive.

    If, after setting your permissions for the drive, you again select to view the drive info on that drive ... do you still see your login name with read & write permissions in the sharing/Permissions table at the bottom. It may also say "you have custom access" just above the table.


    -howard
     
  21. cvcjebus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    #21
    My 2009 MB has a 500GB 5400RPM drive and yes it does achieve around 75 MB/s, my problem is that my 2011 27" iMac 1TB@ 7200RPM is getting between 65-80 MB/s I can't find any helpful information on the topic so far. any thoughts?
     
  22. Usergnome macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    #22
    Move the app

    AJA must be run from a drive other than the one being measured. Does that help?
     
  23. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #23
    Buy an SSD to speed it up.

    Problem solved.
     

Share This Page