Black & reflections...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by djc6, Aug 28, 2007.

1. djc6 macrumors 6502

So, I really like my 24" imac... I think :)

Occasionally I do things like watch movies, visit dpreview.com, run Starry Night (astronomy software) or iDVD where there are large black areas on the screen. I can't decide if the reflections in these situations bother me enough to return the imac - its distracting when I move around to see the image on the screen move around, since the image on the screen is a perfect reflection of me.

My other option is a mini + 24" dell display. I'm not a gamer, so the integrated graphics isn't that big of a concern. I know the mini would be outdated quicker, but with the money I save and the fact the display is seperate, I could justify getting a replacement for it sooner.

The other item that lured me toward the 24" imac is the $200 ipod rebate (i'm a student). I used it toward a 8GB ipod nano.

Anyone have any thoughts on the matter? I gotta decide by tomorrow :)

2. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

wakerider017

You won't be saving much money for a computer setup that is not nearly as nice...

But it is your decision... Why do you want someone else to make it for you?

3. heswa macrumors newbie

The poster didn't ask for someone to make the decision. The poster was just asking for advise ("thoughts"). Isn't that what these forums are for?

4. hologram macrumors 6502

Well no, not really. He's not asking whether a processor can handle a certain task, or whether it has enough vram for yada-yada, he's asking us if he should keep it because of the reflections. What kind of advice are we supposed to give him???

That's the kind of decision that no amount of advice in the world can help him with, it's like he's asking us what color shirt he should wear when he cleans the garage.