Black Window installer!

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by dmmcintyre3, May 13, 2009.

  1. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #1
    Here are mine:

    (for the system preferences window look at the energy saver icon)

    Installer and uninstaller Here The installer will not work if you are not logged in as root.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Wowzera macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Brazil
    #2
    Err, Mine is almost all customized, I changed almost all the UI, almost all Icons, the dock, etc.
    It's posted on May Desktops if you want to check it out!

    Btw, I liked the mod of your About this Mac :)
     
  3. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #3
    The 3 GHz and 10.6 part or the color and logo?
     
  4. Wowzera macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Brazil
    #4
    Yes :p
     
  5. peepboon macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
  6. thunderweb macrumors 6502

    thunderweb

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    Bend OR
  7. MattyK macrumors 6502a

    MattyK

    #7
    You do know that can trick your computer into thinking it can do better processes than it actually can..
     
  8. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #8
    First post updated with new windows and instructions

    Additional Pics here because I cannot attach enough files to the top post
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #10
    So, I'm loving this mod, but I'm having a small problem with it. In my "About This Mac" dialog (image attached), the fonts are off, and cover up the button at the bottom. Any suggestions?

    [​IMG]

    Also, how did you mod the image at the top? I'd love the retro Apple Computer logo and an image of my MacBook up there.

    jW
     
  10. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #11
    ^^ I made the image of the retro Apple logo plus my PowerBook and put PowerBook G4 at the bottom of the image in photoshop. As for the positioning being off I have startup disk showing on mine. That could be why yours messes up like that. The Mac OS X is part of the image so that is why it is black. You have to change it to white.

    To change the Apple logo with Mac OS X under it /System/Library/CoreServices/loginwindow/Resources/MacOSX.tiff needs to be replaced with a tiff picture of your choice.
     
  11. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #12
    The bug with about this mac without startup disk showing is fixed now.
     
  12. peepboon macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
  13. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #14
    Wow, guess I'm just finding all of the bugs. I appreciate the idea of the package installer instead of just telling us where to put it, but it's not working on my system. Instead, I end up without the changes being made and with a bunch of the files on my hard drive (at the root directory).

    [​IMG]

    jW
     
  14. HBOC macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    SLC
    #15
    mine didnt work as well. Im downloading xcode right now, however..
     
  15. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #16
    Installer should work now. Please Test it. It is a automator action.
     
  16. Spares macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #17
    is there a way to reverse this? Last time i did somthing of this like i dove in and then couldnt figure out the reverse
     
  17. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #18
    I will try to make an uninstaller. Now where did I put the backup of the original files?
     
  18. Melrose macrumors 604

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #19
    I was just about to install it and give it a go before I read that.. :eek: I don't install anything I can't easily undo, esp not system stuff.
     
  19. dmmcintyre3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #20
    There is a uninstaller now.

    At least it is uploading:D

    It is done uploading now!
     
  20. King Luis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #21
    need to know where to run the installer from please.
     
  21. Spares macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #22
    automator -> open existing workflow

    on a side note, the installer seems to be giving me some trouble, says theres a problem with the workflow and to check my properties and try again
     
  22. peepboon macrumors 6502

    peepboon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    #23
    Sorry to be a pain, can u write a quick guilde? Im having trouble running the installer from automater :(
     
  23. Spares macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    #24
    download from his site, open the dmg to mount it, open automator, select existing workflow, go to the mounted drive, select the installer.

    Only problem i had was it didnt install hahah, might be the way i was doing it but theres how to actually run the installer
     
  24. King Luis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    #25
    ya, theres a problem with installing the login display. i think. i forget what it exactly is.
     

Share This Page