Blackberry Curve 8900 Without a Contract

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by calebb0917, Oct 28, 2009.

  1. calebb0917 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #1
    Hi, I am looking into getting a Blackberry Curve 8900. I currently have an iPhone 3GS and I plan to keep using that as my phone. I want to use the Curve as more of an Internet device by using the device's Wi-Fi. Meaning that I would have no contract or plan with any cell provider. I would use it just like an iPod Touch. Maybe that can put it in perspective for you. Would I be able to do this? Does anyone have personal experience doing this?
    Thanks!
     
  2. prodigee macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    There is no point in doing this at all, get an iPod touch if you want just wifi based stuff, that or just keep the iPhone, it really is the best for what you want, because a Curve with no contract is like $400 at that price you could get oh I dont know a 64 gb touch. If you were going to get a Curve use that as the phone and the iPhone as an iPod touch touch, it makes more sense that way.

    I am saying your best option is stick with the iPhone and if you really want an iPod touch like device then get an iPod touch, using the Curve as an internet only device just makes no sense.
     
  3. calebb0917 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #3
    Hi, I plan on buying the Curve on eBay, so the price would be more like $259-$300. Also, I love my iPhone and want to keep using it as my phone. My reason for wanting to use the Curve this way is because I have a YouTube channel where I review smartphones and I am interested in the Curve. That's my point behind all of this. Do you know if I could use the Curve this way?
     
  4. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Are you going to use the 8900 to view Youtube videos or just to review it?
     
  5. calebb0917 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #5
    Initially, I will use it to review. But afterwards, I'm sure I will view YouTube videos as well.
     
  6. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #6
    As I currently own this phone, viewing Youtube videos isn't gonna be so hot. It's very very blurry, no where near the quality you get on an iPhone/iPod. Also, you also won't be able to access most of its feature without a data plan (service provider). It won't be worth it if you already have an iPhone.
     
  7. calebb0917 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #7
    Well I am mainly using it to review and use some of the apps from the Blackberry App World. Since you own this phone, if you remove the SIM card, does the Wi-Fi still work? If you turn the Wi-Fi on, can you surf the internet?

    I appreciate your help.
     
  8. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #8
    You won't be able to access or download Blackberry App world without a data plan. I pulled my sim and was unable to access the Blackberry browser even over wi-fi. Tried it through Opera mini and got the same error. I hope this was somewhat helpful.
     
  9. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    You pretty much can't do anything on a Blackberry that requires Internet without a Blackberry data plan.
     
  10. itou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #10
    being a blackberry user myself... i never use my blackberry for webpages.
    the browser is garbage.
     
  11. calebb0917 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    #11
    Thanks! You saved me from making a horrible, costly mistake! God Bless!
     
  12. fourcolourblack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    #12
    Can I just temporarily hi-jack this thread and ask, can I sync my contacts on my Mac (using Address Book) to a Blackberry, specifically this 8900 as I'm thinking of getting.

    Right now, this works perfectly on my Nokia Smartfone. If it can't do that, then there's no point in my even getting this.

    Though I'd be able to figure this out on the Blackberry website/forums but no such luck.
     

Share This Page