Blackra1n help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by jimmy83, Oct 23, 2009.

  1. jimmy83 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #1
  2. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2

    If you're using Blackra1n you shouldn't be in DFU Mode.
     
  3. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #3
    Finally working now :)

    Synced then ran blackra1n and it worked
     
  4. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #4
    Just set up as new again due to me installing ICY/Rock and Cydia which casued me problems... http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=804190

    anyway, trying to JB again and its hanging again on 'running'

    tried it in run as XP SP3 under Windows7 aswell

    and the iPhone has the iTunes connect to USB(isnt that DFU mode)? :confused:

    also ive noticed that if I hold power/home buttons the device then thinks its JB but its not.
     
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    No, that's regular restore mode. In DFU mode the screen will be completely blank. My guess is you're holding down your power button too long while trying to put it into DFU. Try it again until you get it right.
     
  6. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #6
    DFU mode is where you hold Power & Home for 10 seconds, release Power, and hold Home for another 10 seconds.

    It differs from device to device, but that's the general idea. You don't need to be in DFU mode for blackra1n, and if you were, your screen would be blank.
     
  7. jimmy83 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #7
    I didn't think you have to press anything on the iPhone? Just connect via USB then click on blackra1n?
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    According to this tweet, Blackra1n is gonna run smoother on the 3G's soon.

    geohot
    coming tomorrow, #blackra1n RC2!!! fixed 3G support, tethered ipt2 MC and new 3GS support; icy is already fixed
    about 2 hours ago from we
    b
     
  9. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #9
    If you don't even know this then you shouldn't be jailbreaking. You need to read more guides because messing around cause you will just end up here asking stupid questions.
     

Share This Page