BlackRa1n is Garbage!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by tekboi, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. tekboi macrumors 6502a

    tekboi

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans ✈ WesŦward
    #1
    I just ran the blackra1n app to jailbreak my newly purchased 3GS. It installed fine, but when I tried to install cydia half of my icons went missing and the dock was totally empty.

    I had no choice but to restore it. Guess, i'll wait for an official release from redsnow since there is no alternative to black ra1n.

    SMH :mad:
     
  2. NathanA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #2
    Odd. I've used blackra1n plenty, and have yet to encounter anything close to what you describe...

    Have you ever had the phone jailbroken before by any other means, and is it possible that you had restored from an iTunes backup of your phone when it was jailbroken? I'm wondering if the installed applications cache and/or Springboard's plist (which contains the order and visibility status of icons) was in a funny state from a prior jailbreaking, and there was a strange interaction between the Cydia install and some old, stale configuration/plists from a prior backup.

    You should be able to clear out any hidden icon settings by turning on Restrictions in Settings, hiding some random icons, and then turning Restrictions back off. See if your icons appear after that if this happens again. Or, install SBSettings and go into Hide Icons ("Poof") and see if any are set to "On" by any chance.

    Another thing you can try is to install Erica Utilities through Cydia and then, as the user 'mobile' and NOT 'root' (which is kind of counterintuitive at first glance...), run 'uicache' from a terminal (ssh'd or with MobileTerminal), which will cause Springboard to rebuild its application cache. If they don't show up after that without any other action needed on your part, then respring or reboot.

    -- Nathan
     
  3. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #3
    Blackra1n is garbage? I have used it on over 5 devices (3GS,3G and Touch's) all have been working perfectly fine since they were used. Try it again.
     
  4. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #4
    Make sure you restore and set up as new phone before you jailbreak.
     
  5. tekboi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tekboi

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans ✈ WesŦward
    #5
    I'll try this.


    And yes, i've jailbroken phones before this one. Not using blackra1n though. While I was booting my phone with BR, Itunes automatically opened and started trying to sync. I'm thinking that is what caused it to malfunction. But I will try it again.

    I really wish there was some alternative to blackra1n though. :(
     
  6. tekboi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tekboi

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    New Orleans ✈ WesŦward
    #6
    This is the first time I have tried to jailbreak this particular phone. Cydia didn't show up, neither did the settings icon and tons of other vital apps. I restored it for now and will try this again later tonight.

    thx 4 all the advice
     
  7. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #7
    You must make sure that iTunes is closed. And if you are on Windows, make sure to kill the iTunesHelper background process to prevent it opening iTunes automatically.

    Please edit your title. You had a problem with your jailbreak, probably caused by your failure to be sure iTunes was disabled when you jailbroke. That doesn't make blackra1n "garbage"; in fact, it says far more about you.
     
  8. fdxgnd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #8
    I agree with above posts. Try it again. I also tried Ultrasnow beta last night just because. This worked well on my 3gs too. Then restored and used blackrain again. No issues. Also, as stated above, make sure you close iTunes.
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9

    Well said. That's exactly why the screwup.
    I jailbroke over 15 devices ranging from iPhone 2G's, 3GS, 3G and iPod touch with no problems.
    Maybe it's the user.......
     
  10. shaotse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #10
    The iFrodo boot logo is enough to make it garbage for me- Pwnage Tool 4ever! Sorry for those who have to suffer thru a tethered JB :D
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Yes but you only see the ifrodo once when you jailbreak, after that it's back to the regular Apple boot logo.
     
  12. Darwing macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #12
    dude don't jump to conclusions restore, then run it again
     
  13. Bl0ckHe1d macrumors 6502

    Bl0ckHe1d

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Location:
    Caledonia
    #13
    hey come on...there are NO such thing as a "user error" :rolleyes:

    to anyone that uses blackra1n which is idiot proof should appreciate the application whether it works or not, if you are going to slate such an application perhaps the thread starter should create one and see how easy it is to produce a "free" application...
     
  14. Gix1k macrumors 68030

    Gix1k

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #14
    Whoa whoa! BR is a great tool. I have done several phones and my own over and over with it. Never once had an issue. I even did iPod Touch's with it. You are experiencing user error. Sorry, it's true.
     
  15. deal.sidda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #15
    BlackRa1n

    Hello,

    I am a newbie with IPhone jailbreak. I have a question, if I jailbreak using BlackRa1n ,then if something goes wrong/, can I restore/revert back to original Iphone factory setting . Does jailbreak mean, I can use the phone with any GSM carrier

    Thanks
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    yes
     
  17. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #17
    a little, KIND OF REALLY IMPORTANT POINT you left out.
     
  18. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #18
    1) Yes, you can always restore.

    2) No, jailbreaking means you can access your phone's filesystem and run applications not signed by Apple. Unlocking means you can use your phone on any GSM carrier. You must jailbreak before you can unlock, but jailbreaking by itself does not unlock your phone. Depending on your phone model and firmware version you may need to install any of several unlocking programs after you jailbreak. If you post here, we can tell you which.
     
  19. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #19
    <3 6 year olds that cry about things they are doing wrong.
     

Share This Page