Blackra1n won't run on my Macbook OS X

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by kevneerg, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. kevneerg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    Downloaded Blackra1n from Geohot's website and tried to run it on my Macbook. I double clicked the app, but nothing happens. Re-downloaded the file 5 different times and still no luck. The app just doesn't run.

    Anyone else experience this? The OS on the macbook is clean. I don't have anything other than the usual applications (office, firefox etc.) installed.

    I eventually ran Blackra1n in Windows on my desktop and the jailbreak completed with no issues.

    I would like to get Blackra1n to run on my macbook since it runs much faster then my desktop...more convenient since its a tethered jb.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #2
    What kind of Macbook do you have (PPC or Intel), and what version of OS X do you have?
     
  3. kevneerg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #3
    I have an intel macbook. bought June 09 and it runs snow leopard..10.6.2

    any insight would be appreciated. thanks again.
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  5. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    You could try repairing permissions. In my experience that can sometimes help when apps close on launch. I've had it happen with Word once.
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Make sure you are running it from the desktop.
     
  7. kevneerg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #7
    hi..thank you for the suggestions. i tried repairing the permissions and i always run from the desktop, but still no luck. if theres anything else you can think of, let me know.

    thx
     
  8. gableroux macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Location:
    Quebec
    #8
    Same problem here, I found the solution, I was using keka to unzip blackra1n.zip and guess what, keka killed my blackra1n.app; just use default mac os unarchiver to unzip it, it will work like a charm ;).
     
  9. kevneerg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #9
    hi gableroux..just wanted to let you know your suggestion worked and i'm finally able to run blackra1n on my macbook. i had given up on this thread and on trying to get blackra1n to run.

    i'm glad i decided to check back today. thanks again!
     
  10. blockb macrumors newbie

    blockb

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    #10
    THis helped me a lot! Thank you! :D
     

Share This Page