Blade SSD in Non-Fusion?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Kirkle, Apr 14, 2013.

  1. Kirkle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #1
    Is it possible to install a blade-style ssd in a non-Fusion 2013 iMac?
     
  2. paul-n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    #2
    I read that the connector is not installed if its not needed, but don't if that is usual.
     
  3. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    The connector is in all 27" models and it is only in the higher 21.5" model.
     
  4. trustever macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    #4
    What I did hear is that after the first batch in November December 2012 the one that come after all had the spare sata port also if not purchased with the fusion
     
  5. Kirkle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #5
    So unfortunately, the only way I'll probably know for sure if to open up mine (27" btw) and find out whether it actually has an extra SATA port or not. :(
     
  6. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    No, re-read my post. The 27" models have the connector regardless of whether or not they actually have fusion. Your machine will have the connector.
     
  7. Kirkle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    #7
    Thank you.

    Anyone have any suggestions for blade SSDs?
     
  8. Arfdog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #8
    Try OWC
     
  9. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Avoid OWC they are severely overpriced. Your best bet is an official Apple blade SSD from a retina Macbook pro or iMac. They have TRIM enabled by default and obviously are fully supported hardware wise. eBay/Craigslist is your friend.

    There is one tiny caveat to your question - you definitely have the slot but the retaining screw for that slot to hold the blade in place might not be present.... if it's not present then it's easy enough to get but worth thinking about.
     
  10. zackkmac, Apr 17, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2013

    zackkmac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #10
    According to post 42 here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1507713&page=2

    This guy has a base 27" with the regular 1TB HD and his logic board has the blade SSD port and the screw hole but no screw, which would need to be obtained separately. As All Taken has said, it is pretty apparent that all 2012 27" iMacs are equipped with this port.
     

Share This Page