Blade SSD or samsung 840 pro?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jpmorais, Apr 18, 2013.

  1. jpmorais, Apr 18, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013

    jpmorais macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    CT, USA
    #1
    I have a maxed out 27 with two 768 apple blade ssd, one on the blade connector and one the regular sata, with the blade ssd to regular sata adpter that i got it from ebay.

    It runs perfect on RAID 0.

    Now my friend bought a maxed out with fusion drive, also bought a 256 blade ssd from ebay and a 256 samsung 840 pro. He love my machine but he cant afford the extra 1400 bucks on storage, and he does not want to run them on RAID 0

    So i did the upgrade for him and everything works. he wants to know where he should run the os?

    Apple blade 256 since it has native trim support or samsung 840 pro with 20% overprovisioning and no TRIM?

    Thank you all.
     
  2. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #2
    The 'blade' SSD is a Samsung 830 (or SanDisk X110). Presumably, that answers your question.

    Also, you can and should enable TRIM on the 840 Pro.
     
  3. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
  4. jpmorais thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    CT, USA
    #4
    i paid 1900,00 for both apple blade 768 ssd, i have them in raid 0.

    i have a 60k job to do, and need the the drive speed for the kind job i do, as my Mac Pro died i had to spend the money, but went for the iMac cause we have a bunch of thunderbolt devices here. :confused::mad:

    Got tired of waiting for a new MAC PRO with thunderbolt and USB 3.

    ----------

    Thanks, i read somewhere that the Trim enabler creates issues?
     
  5. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
  6. itsamacthing macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2011
    Location:
    Bangkok
    #6
    Mac Pro situation is pathetic... but thats another thread - I would use the Apple SSD just for stability and native TRIM.
     
  7. jpmorais thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    CT, USA
    #7
    Thank you! i know its ridiculous!

    should i over-provision the apple blade ssd?
     

Share This Page