blank screen when installing vista

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by 4y4m, Oct 23, 2008.

  1. 4y4m macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #1
    hi guys,
    jst bought a macbook pro 2 days ago but because i'm doing engineering i need some windows software to do my assignment like matlab, pro engineer etc.

    so i tried to installing windows vista ultimate using bootcamp.
    when i clicked the start windows on bootcamp it restarts the laptop then tries to boot it form the dvd. after a while the dvd stop spinning and it jst left me with a black screen with an underscore blinking.

    thanks
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You're not the first person to encounter this. Have you tried just rebooting and holding down Option to bring up the boot loader? After that you have to select the DVD media. You hopefully should be greeted with the "Press any key to boot from DVD..." text.
     
  3. Encanto macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    I m having the same issue. I m not gettiing into OSX or anythign when I boot up. All I get is a blinking underscore. I tried reintalling the OS X , but hard drive is not being recognize. hehe I was worried that i had done soemthign bad. I have no idea how to fix that so i m just going to take tot he apple store tomorrow.
     
  4. 4y4m thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #4
    i tried holding down the option key, the theres 2 things that came up the mac hd and the windows cd. when i choose the windows cd the same thing happened. blank screen with blinking underscore.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I don't like the pattern that's starting to form here. Do you have a Windows XP disc that you can try? Does your copy of Vista include SP1? Is it 64-bit?

    I hope it's not a firmware issue.
     
  6. 4y4m thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #6
    its windows vista ultimate 32 bit. without the sp1 yet. n i don't have windows xp yet. i'll try asking my friends if they have it

    well its the old model of macbook pro. as the new one came out there's quite a big discount on the old 1 n i heard the new model is not as good as ppl expected.
     

Share This Page