Blank WebClip Icon

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by aresinferno, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. aresinferno macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #1
    Wasn't sure where to put this topic so I thought the general section would work. So here goes:

    How many of you want to organise your home screen by spacing icons apart? Perhaps you have a blank space on your main screen that no other apps seem to fit. You decided you want to leave the space blank but don't want new downloaded apps to fill it?

    The solution? A Blank Space WebClip icon.

    Blank Icon

    Instructions:
    Open the link on your iPhone. Click the + button. Then you will need to do the next stages quickly. Press the add to home screen button and then quickly press the add button in the top right corner. This add button fades when it realises that there is only a blank space and no real text in the title. It takes a short time to do this so you have a small window to click it.

    Voila, you have the icon on your home screen. Wait, what's this? It is white! This is the downside of clicking add so soon to get the blank text. it does not get enough time to locate the icon. The solution? Click the icon. Once the page loads it will get blank icon and there you go. One blank space. You can use the same link to add as many of these as you want as there is no limit to the number of same WebClip icons.

    Excuse me if this has been done before but I found this is the best non-jailbreak way that does not have a dead link or look really bad with a . for text and a glossy icon.

    Enjoy.
     
  2. vinay427 macrumors 6502a

    vinay427

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #2
    Thanks a lot! This is REALLY useful. :)

    EDIT: Safari (mobile) says the server is not responding but Safari on my Mac works fine. Any tips?
     
  3. aresinferno thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #3
    It is fine on my iPhone using 2.1. Just try again, try switching wifi off and on or check the connection. Perhaps a www. in front makes a difference. It did with another site on my phone.
     
  4. vinay427 macrumors 6502a

    vinay427

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #4
    Didn't help, but thanks!
     
  5. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #5
    Won't load in Firefox for me. Of course, I don't need it there, but I was trying to get the URL for Safari on the phone.

    I did then take the URL that was left after the failure to load and mailed it to myself. I clicked on the URL, up cam Safari, but the page wouldn't load there either. I tried adding it to the home screen anyway, and I did get a while icon. It is labeled "Untitled." And tapping on that icon only again tries and fails to load the page. The icon remains white with the same title.

    Maybe I am misunderstanding the directions.
     
  6. aresinferno thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #6
    Something odd is definately going on if two ofyou are having problems. Works perfect for mr in FF and mobile safari. I know it works but it doesn't for you...
    Kind of defeats the point. Try loading www.nativeui.com/nativeui/ and see if that loads my UI kit. If not then it isn't just a problem with the page but the entire site / domain.
     
  7. svndmvn Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
  8. vinay427 macrumors 6502a

    vinay427

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #8
    It worked now. I first tried www.nativeui.com/nativeui/, and it worked, so then I tried www.nativeui.com/nativeui/blank.html and it also worked! Thanks a lot! :)

    I tried to add the icon. First time I got the white icon :D, but it worked fine. Then, I waited for the blank icon but now I can't press add unless I type some text (and a space doesn't work).
     
  9. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #9
    OK, it loads from the second link. But I get black icon outlined with a thin white line and with a white X in a circle inside, labeled Native UI, no matter how fast I am.
     
  10. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    awesome! The site I used to use for this is gone now....
     
  11. foob macrumors 6502

    foob

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #11
    If you're jailbroken, you can create any webclip and delete the icon from it's webclip directory for the same effect.
     
  12. aresinferno thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #12
    That was me experimenting to see if it still had corners when it removed gloss. The link itself is to another project I am working on. You need to use the blank.html link for the blank icon.

    You don't wait for the blank icon when you add it to the homescreen. When you open the link saved to your home screen and wait for the page to load it updates the icon automatically and it goes blank when you close the browser.
     
  13. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    meh I take back what I said. These webclips don't work. The pages don't even load.
     
  14. Donz0r macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
  15. aresinferno thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #15
    Seems odd how half of you can't load it but it is great to hear from those who can.
     
  16. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #16
    I was able to load the second link you posted yesterday, but not right now. I've never been able to get the first link to load.
     
  17. aresinferno thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #17
    Very odd. Anyone have any ideas what is going on? Is it the domain or what. Try replacing the .com to .co.cc and see if that makes a difference. If no change then it could be the host I am using or something.
     
  18. Eso macrumors 68000

    Eso

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #18
    Can't get the URL to work either.

    What code do you use to get a blank icon? According to the Guidlines for Web Apps, the iPhone automatically adds a drop shadow, reflective shine, and rounded corners. I assume there is some code to prevent this?
     
  19. Eso macrumors 68000

    Eso

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #19
    Figured it out

    Blank Icon

    Temporarily I will be hosting he content as it is very small, but I will be monitoring my bandwidth and will remove the files before I get charged for overages if a lot of people use this. If you have your own webspace or know how to host your local machine as a web server, please use the attached files and do it yourself via the following:

    You will need to put the PNG into root directory. This creates the black icon w/o reflective shine, etc.

    You will need to load the HTML file in safari and add to home screen. This particular file will allow you to add the page with a blank name.
     
  20. Cure4Life macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    #20
    Hi. I've been able to do this from your link, however when trying to do it from my own server, it isn't working properly. Either it makes me add a name or the icon still has gloss effects (using a 60x60 black png), or both. I cannot find your PNG, can you supply it? I don't see an attachment anywhere. When viewing your source, there is no LINK tag so i am assuming you are placing your png in your web root named apple-touch-icon.png? When viewing your link, I can add to Home Screen multiple times and never need to add a name or click ADD really fast. It never greys out, but on my server it immediately greys out untill i type something. I am using the exact same html as in your example. I am out of ideas lol.

    Thanks,
    Bill
     
  21. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #21
    first two times i tried this i got blank icons, no white ones at all :D

    thanks for the topic
     
  22. Cure4Life macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    #22
    I think it has something to do with the server. When i tried it from a windows server, i was able to add w/o a name. Also, the glossy effects, i believe, are getting removed by adding "-precomposed" to the file name or in the link tag. EX: apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png or <link rel="apple-touch-icon-precomposed" href="images/BlankIcon.png>. I've seen some other forums where ppl were trying this and it worked, then they switched hosts and it stopped working or at least stopped working in the same manner.
     
  23. Goldfrapp macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
  24. Goldfrapp macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #24
    Could someone help me out, please. I need a blank webclip icon. :(
     
  25. thebez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #25

Share This Page