blatant lie in apple's new pc v mac ad

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by clevin, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #1
    pc said "ask what not vista can do for you, ask what you can buy for vista"....

    please, checking compatibility list before buying hardwares is apple mac's typical behavior, not pc's, whoever go from XP to vista, has better chance to get their hardwares work than going from XP to Mac.

    apple is getting more and more ridiculous now, does SJ really think buyers in the market are all retard?
     
  2. TheBonk macrumors 6502

    TheBonk

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Why would you need your pc hardware on a Mac? Macs are an all in one computer, remember? :p

    Also, most external hardware works on a Mac by just plugging it in. No software. I've used a bunch of hardware on my Mac and I didn't need to install software, just plug it in.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Apple makes upgrading to a new OS simple. If your Mac doesn't meet specs, buy a new one. Just one purchase from only one vendor. Easy. ;)
     
  4. .Andy macrumors 68030

    .Andy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Location:
    The Mergui Archipelago
    #4
    You are aware that it's a humorous play on a famous quote? Nothing more. Nothing less.

    edit: Just to check: you are aware that neither of the actors are actually computers aren't you? They are people pretending to be computers. For comic value.
     
  5. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    well, you do noticed the ad says 'what you can BUY for your vista? right? goto bestbuy, randomly buy a printer, buy a webcam, buy a game, buy a video card, buy a soundcard, what are chances that mac can't handle it? vs vista,

    you only need to download drivers for vista, which is free. but you DO need to BUY specific product for mac.
    well, i guess you also are aware that nobody older than 15 would read these ads that way, right?

    even pearls before swine has meanings, comical isn't a defense for ridiculous implication
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    You don't think that Steve Jobs writes the commercials, do you? :rolleyes:

    This isn't the first blatant lie that the ADVERTISEMENT PEOPLE have placed in a Mac ad. They're quite adept at twisting the truth.

    And oh yes, last time I checked, the denizens of the USA elected George Bush TWICE, so a large portion of the population is indeed retarded.
     
  7. saltyzoo macrumors 65816

    saltyzoo

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #7
    First of all, name any ad on earth that doesn't overstate the product it's selling. Duh.


    Secondly, the point being made is that if you own a Mac and upgrade the OS the whole computer will still work, while you cannot say the same about a Windows OS upgrade.

    Obviously they are downplaying the downside to that argument. Just like coke doesn't say "but people that like sweeter soda will prefer pepsi" in their ads. They only focus on the pro side of their product - which is indeed a selling point. Double Duh.
     
  8. DeaconGraves macrumors 65816

    DeaconGraves

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #8
    First off, the concept of the ad is not that "all hardware works with Macs" but that upgrading your OS should not cripple half the hardware on your computer. Granted, its taking things to the extremes but that's what advertising does. At the same time, I upgraded from Tiger to Leopard and didn't have to upgrade a single driver.

    Secondly, why would I need to go to Best Buy and buy a webcam, video card or sound card for my mac? They're all already there. And any hardware (like a printer, external HD) that I've randomly bought have worked with no hassle.
     
  9. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #9
    I have used OSX right from the start. I cant remember ever installing a 'driver' for ANY piece of hardware I bought. Never had a problem.
     
  10. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #10
    I've needed drivers for:
    Scanners
    Midi interfaces
    Printers
     
  11. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    the ad is intended to ask pc user to switch to mac, is it?

    update shouldn't cripple hardwares? lol. is leopard really doing better than vista on this? I doubt it

    ps. mac doesn't have a driver for my cheap hp 1020 printer. since leopard copied linux drivers, maybe it will help....
     
  12. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #12
    Would he be wrong? There are an awful lot of retards out there buying *****, if I had a product I could sell each one by the power of a simple advert and make a penny per sale I'd be a happy, and wealthy, man.
     
  13. saltyzoo macrumors 65816

    saltyzoo

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    #13
    Calling an ad a "blatant lie" is also rather pointless. It's an ad. It focus' on a selling point. It's not a "blatant lie" that a fixed hardware platform will have less issues with an OS upgrade than a loose hardware platform, it's in fact, quite true. Yes, there are downsides to it being a fixed hardware platform, but that doesn't make the upsides a lie. More pleasant OS upgrades are an upside.

    Hmm, on second thought maybe your right, maybe you just aren't understanding what the ad is saying because of the language difference?
     
  14. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #14
    Is that Apple's fault or HP's fault? Hmmm, I wonder. :rolleyes:
     
  15. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #15
    Actually you have reminded me I did need a driver for the scanner but that was so it would show up in Photoshop.

    I've had 3 different printers and all 3 have been in contact with pretty much every 10.x update at some point without the need for drivers.

    Cameras, video cameras and even phones have all been used without additional drivers.

    :cool: I'm just sayin'..... :D
     
  16. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #16
    The only thing ive not been able just to plug into my Mac are mobile phones. For some reason OS X hates all my mobile phones ive ever owned.
     
  17. Roric macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    WI
    #17
    I am "older than 15", much older actually, but I recognized the quote right away..it has been around for about 46 years and been repeated and parodied quite a lot. I also am still aware of my surroundings enough to tell that the images in the ads are of people not computers. So maybe you need to rethink the age thing a bit.

    As for the need to buy new things for an upgraded OS, I work tech support at a college and have 5 machines in my office. I upgraded a Mac and a Dell to Leopard and Vista. Both are about the same age. Leopard has all the available bells and whistles with the existing hardware. Vista installed, but the cool bells and whistles are not there because the video card needs upgrading and the memory needs a boost. So yeah, "Ask not what Vista can do for you, but what you can buy for Vista."
     
  18. savar macrumors 68000

    savar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    District of Columbia
    #18
    What makes you think they were talking about hardward upgrades? I think the point of the commercial is that Vista is a pricey upgrade.

    Either way, I'm not a hardware junkie, but I've never had any problems finding stuff that works with my mac. I've added hard drives (internal and external), external sound cards (USB and firewire), external display, bluetooth keyboard/mouse, etc. Never had any problems.
     
  19. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #19

    I know!
    I'm just being my usual, awkward, self. :)
     
  20. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #20
    It's probably just a coincidence, but I never had any real issue syncing phones to my Mac..... up until they must've started work on the iPhone, when support seemed to wain considerably.

    Anybody with Leopard want to confirm that iSync got no attention in the update??:rolleyes:
     
  21. Silencio macrumors 68020

    Silencio

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    iSync version in 10.4.11: 2.4

    iSync version in 10.5.1: 3.0

    Guess something changed, though on the surface everything looks pretty similar.
     
  22. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #22
    I would say your right, just a rather unfortunate one from my point of view.

    I've only tried to use iSync a couple of times and it didn't work... So I couldn't say. Might try again now, what with Leopard and all.
     
  23. a456 macrumors 6502a

    a456

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    #23
    Me too. Canon scanner and printer both needed drivers - Iomega and LaCie hard drives didn't (but the LaCie was pretty nasty before I upgraded to Tiger). It is a bit like people saying they have never needed to reboot their systems (or turn them off) in 10 years of use. Can't be true because updates often require rebooting. Macs are great but and in our eagerness for others to recognize this we oversell.
     
  24. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #24
    Appearantly you have not tried to use a Mac before.

    printer: OS X comes with drivers for most common printers. XP needs to search for drivers, Vista mostly no drivers

    Webcam: most macs has built-in webcams. No need to tape a monster to the top of your CRT.

    Video card: already installed. No need to hunt down different drivers.

    soundcard: no need for additional sound card. The soundcard that comes with the Mac has zero-noticeable-noise (unlike those that comes with PCs). And all the macs has OPTICAL OUTPUT integrated.

    projectors: Mac OS X even OS 9 has no problems auto-detecting to proper resolution. XP, has some problems, need to press some keys, sometimes requires reboots to work. Vista, forget it, you need to download drivers which are mostly non-existing. WHY THE HECK WOULD YOU NEED TO DOWNLOAD A DRIVER FOR VGA / DVI projectors?

    You are the one who has the facts wrong.
     
  25. CashGap macrumors 6502

    CashGap

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    Music City, USA
    #25
    "It is a bit like people saying they have never needed to reboot their systems (or turn them off) in 10 years of use. Can't be true because updates often require rebooting."

    Others will top this, but I remember back in about 1990 when I first had a production NetWare 3.x server go over one year of up-time. This was before redundant power supplies, etc. I actually came in that night to see the display flip over to 1 year in Monitor.
     

Share This Page