Blinded by science.....13" pro for a total novice

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dianahorn, Jun 2, 2010.

1. dianahorn macrumors newbie

ok, so you guys are gonna frown with dismay at my lack of intelligence here!! I am fed up with windows, want to change to MBP 13" but there is too much specifics for such a 'blonde' brain! I need reasonable storage, wifi, programs that will let me write letters, emails, documents, make leaflets and publicity designs, and the usual music photos etc.
    Can anyone please tell me in ONCE SCENTANCE which model i need and if those programs (to do the above) come loaded on or will need to purchase seperately......
    The reason for the pro is the case, sling it in my handbag, work on the sofa, train, plane, and be at the occasional mercy of a 7 year old!!
    Once again, apologies for my ignorance!!!

Diana x

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

The base (2.4GHz) 13" MBP is fine but you may want to upgrade the HD to 500GB if you need a lot space.

For presentations and documents, you can use iWork, Office for Mac or OpenOffice, all will do what you need. OS X comes with Mail which should server you fine. For basic photo editing, iPhoto is fine but if you want something more professional, look at Photoshops or GIMP. Basically, Macs come with software that is enough for basic user. If you want something with more features, you need 3rd party app (most have free trials so give the a try)

3. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

deadwulfe

I agree, might as well go for more storage. Other than that, the base model will suit your needs.

As for productivity software, iWork comes at a discount when you buy it with your Mac. OpenOffice is free, but looks like it was designed by IBM in the 80s. Office for Mac, in its current version, is complete garbage if you're used to Office for Windows.