Blocked site, how to unblock it?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sk3pt1c, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. sk3pt1c macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #1
    hi there, a friend of mine said she logged onto a pub's wifi last night and since then she can't access Facebook at home, neither via Wifi nor via LAN...

    the message she's getting is "website blocked by filter"

    this happens across all her browsers

    there's only one account on her mac, so there's no chance someone did the parental thingy to mess with her and she says her hosts file is ok too...

    any ideas?
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Have your friend to clear the cookies in her browser.
     
  3. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #3
    Didn't work... I told her to uninstall/reinstall her browsers, let's see...
     
  4. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #4
    Have your friend flush her DNS cache.

    This can be done from the command line by launching Terminal, then running:
    dscacheutil -flushcache
     
  5. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #5
    she said that didn't work either, i don't know if she's uninstalled/reinstalled her browsers...

    either something's really weird or she's doing all this wrong :D
     
  6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    If she cleared her cookies and cache, and verified that her DNS servers are accurate in her computer/router, there should be nothing blocking her access to the site. My bet is that she didn't do one of those things properly.
     
  8. FourCandles macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Just on the offchance that your friend is running OS X 10.4 (Tiger) or earlier, the command will be different - it is:
    lookupd -flushcache
     
  9. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #9
    thanks everyone, i've given her a link to this thread and told her to try everything and suggest that if she's not that comfortable with the terminal and stuff, i could connect to her mac remotely and do it for her...
    waiting on her reply, she's probably not up yet (she's in the UK)
     
  10. sk3pt1c thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk3pt1c

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    a simulacrum
    #10
    apparently, flushing the DNS cache worked after a restart, so there :)

    she sends thanks to all of you guys! :)
     

Share This Page