Blocking users from my airport extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ThomasM, Mar 15, 2010.

  1. ThomasM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    #1
    Is there anyway to block users that are connected via cable ? aka restricting internet access, limiting the speed they get or completely locking them out without removing the cable ?
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
  3. ThomasM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    #3
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I'd recommend using WPA2 security more then just filtering on MAC address. The latter option can be easily spoofed, thus getting around the security measure.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    er....??

    WPA2 is only for wireless networks. The OP asked about a wired network.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    D'oh - Reading comprehension 101.
     
  7. ThomasM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    #7
    Hehe

    So, is there any way to prevent access when someone is connected via cable ?
     
  8. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    See the post above. Or disconnect the cable.
     
  9. ThomasM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    #9
    I'm struggling to sort it out, can't disconnect the cable so that's not an option

    when i use aiport utiliy - airport - access control , it's only wireless mac adresses
     
  10. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    This maybe?



    What of you have computers connected via ethernet? Does AU show you something different then?
     
  11. ThomasM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    #11
    But that's for users trying to connect via wireless ? not via cable (DHCP)
     
  12. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #12
  13. ThomasM thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    #13
    I've tried it, it only affects machines connected via wireless
     
  14. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #14
    As far as I know, there is no way to restrict access for wired clients. At least not on any of Apple's Base Stations. I think the general thought on this is if you wanted to restrict access for a wired client, why allow them to plug in in the first place?

    And just FYI, DHCP is the protocol by which a router distributes IP addresses to the connected clients, whether wired or wireless. It's not synonymous with Ethernet connection.
     

Share This Page