Blu-ray movies onto iPod?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by monke, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. monke macrumors 65816

    monke

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #1
    Is it at all possible right now to put blu-ray movies onto an iPod? I'm not expecting HD quality, but I just want to be able to watch my blu-ray movies on my iPod.

    Quite obviously a Blu-ray drive would be needed, but I need to know if its possible before I buy the drive.

    Thanks
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    If you rip it using AnyDVD HD in Windows, then convert it to mp4 using any number of tools, then possibly, but it's a lot of hassle.

    Or if the movie comes with a Digital Copy.
     
  3. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #3
    Yes - for some. See the ATV and HT forum for a thread on BR to ATV. If Handbrake can open the rip, then you can use its iPod (or any other) preset.
     
  4. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #4
    Is there a point? It is still going to be played with a tiny screen (in comparison to full HD resolutions). Just watch any old SD movie and also watch a blu-ray disc you ripped. It'll be the same.
     
  5. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #5
    The point is, if you own a Blu-ray player you don't have to go out and buy both the Blu-ray and DVD Video discs of the same title. That would be wasting money.
     
  6. wareupdater macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #6
  7. monke thread starter macrumors 65816

    monke

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #7
    Thanks, I didn't know that digital copies came with blu-ray discs (hadn't had one before) and then opened the Dark Knight to find a digital copy. They work slick!

    Exactly. After opening the Dark Knight, I opened Step Brothers and it didn't have a digital copy and was disappointed. Digital Copy should be standard at this point.

    Great, thanks!
     
  8. sansa11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #8
    I opened the Dark Knight DVD, but found that I had to pay for the digital copy.:(
    It should've been free since I already paid for the DVD.
     
  9. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    That's plain stupid.
     
  10. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #10
    Very nice! A well constructed and productive comment! :rolleyes:
     
  11. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    I meant the part about having to pay for it, why on earth would the studio do that?
     
  12. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #12
    I don't really care, but I was also under the impression that the digital copy comes WITH the Blu-Ray purchase, isn't that what they say on all the commercials? I guess I wasn't really paying close attention to how they worded it. How much extra is this digital copy? And I too understand that the studios are there to make money, and will do everything in their power to do so. ;)
     
  13. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    Although, he did say DVD. I haven't had to pay for any Blu Ray based digital copies.
     
  14. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #14
    Ahhhh, I see. That makes sense. :)
     

Share This Page