Blu-Ray on air - what do I need?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by iann1982, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. iann1982 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    #1
    Hi All,

    Just ordered the FastMacs Blu-Ray drive as I felt for the extra £13 it was more than worth it over the superdrive.

    Just a couple of questions, firstly.

    1: I presume i'll have to launch XP via bootcamp? (I'll try Parallels but doubt it'll have the oompf)

    2: Can I output via XP at 1920 x 1080p? I have the rev B 1.6ghz model.

    3: Is the air's audio output limited to 2.0 stereo or is it a digital optical port like on the macbooks?

    Finally, does anyone know if the drive will work off USB power?

    Regards,

    Ian
     
  2. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #2
    1: Yes, bootcamp will be faster and better, especially on your machine.

    2: I highly doubt you will be able to output 1080p smoothly. With that slow of a CPU, and not that dandy of a GPU, you will choke pretty hard getting it to work.

    3: Not sure. Don't have one and will never be in the market for one, so I've never cared to look.

    Lastly, maybe it will, maybe it won't. The Air's USB port is overpowered from the USB spec., specifically for the Superdrive to work, so there is a chance you drive will, too. Again, not 100% sure tho...
     
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
  4. iann1982 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    #4
    My understanding is that the Air uses the 9400 graphics in windows - this supports 1080p blu ray, guess I'll find out in a week or so..
     
  5. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #5
    There only is the 9400M, so what else would you expect it to use?!
     
  6. LinMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #6
    Parallels might not work for playing it directly, but you might be able to rip it via AnyDVD HD first then play it out of OS X.
     
  7. Veinticinco macrumors 6502a

    Veinticinco

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Europe
    #7
    Personally I wouldn't want to 'dirty' any of my Macs by putting a MS OS :eek: on there just to play BR.

    I'll happily wait until they sort out these 'licensing issues' and finally add BR compatibility to QT under Snow Leopard.
     
  8. iann1982 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    #8
    As opposed to the processor handling .264 processing like with the older macbooks and has it been confirmed that OS X offloads video to the GPU?
     
  9. iann1982 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    #9
    Windows is already on their for work things - agree it's not worth installing just for Blu.
     
  10. McGilli macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #10
    You will be limited to 2.0 sound from the audio out jack on the MBA.
     

Share This Page