Blue translucent screen on HDMI output

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Cubytus, Sep 1, 2014.

  1. Cubytus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #1
    Hi there,

    I was sure this problem was tackled since it first appeared, but apparently not. I plugged in a MBP, late 2011 issue, to a 1360x768 TV through HDMI connection, and got a translucent blue screen both on the TV and MBP. Translucent because on sticking my nose to the screen, I could indeed see the windows "behind" it.

    From one try to the other, sometimes I got "Not supported" displayed on the TV, as if I selected the wrong resolution. During this time, nothing showed in the Console.

    I also tested the VGA connection on the same TV, but it failed to be detected, however.

    On connecting a MacBook to the MBP through screen sharing, I could see plugging in the TV was correctly detected, and the correct resolution sent. I could even slide the "overscan" slider and see the blue rectangle changing in size accordingly. If that's interesting, when I unplugged the TV from the MBP, sometimes it kept the "Disposition" tab in the Monitors pane, as if more than one monitor was plugged in.

    I already tried doing a deep clean on startup with AppleJack, to no avail.

    Then I reversed the roles: the MacBook (late 2009) was plugged in the TV, MBP controlled its screen, and the exact same signes appeared, although they were running different OS X versions (MBP on Snow Leopard, MB on Yosemite beta) and had, obviously, different adapters.

    FWIW the TV itself does work, as I could play a movie without a problem with a Raspberry Pi.

    As there are no messages in the Console, what could be the problem, then?
     
  2. joecool99 Suspended

    joecool99

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    it could be issue with GPU or the external output port. can you try it with a display?
    try PRAM + SMC reset first
     
  3. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    What size 2011 MBP?

    Does the 2009 work fine directly connected to the TV? I got lost in all the screen sharing bit - the OP is not that clear.
     
  4. Cubytus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #4
    Both 13". None could send a valid picture to the TV. If Yosemite beta could have been blamed because of its beta status, the MBP is stable.
     
  5. Cubytus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #5
    Just reset the SMC. I only remembered about the PRAM.

    Now I get a picture from the MBP using both adapters.

    Since I was close to the screen, I could see the image is much sharper with the VGA adapter than the HDMI one at the same resolution. Shouldn't it be the opposite?
     
  6. CaffeinatedNoms macrumors member

    CaffeinatedNoms

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Location:
    Northeast England
    #6
    Not necessarily. Some TV's apply automatic filtering to HDMI (and some of them, I type whilst glaring at my own TV, don't have options to turn that off) that smoothen images to hide artefacts or upscaling problems - but they will assume you're connecting a PC when you use the VGA port and so not filter the image.
     
  7. Cubytus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #7
    Surely this entry model doesn't have such an option.

    I though the problem was gone after SMC and PRAM were reset, but just as I wanted to plug it in for a movie, I got the dreaded "Not supported" message on the TV on HDMI, and "No signal" on VGA. Rebooting the MBP with TV attached did give a picture.

    What could be going on?
     

Share This Page