Bluetooth 4.0 Dongle on MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by Baklava, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. Baklava macrumors 6502a

    Baklava

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hello everyone,

    I bought a Bluetooth dongle today but no drivers for Mac were included. After searching the web to figure out how it can work on Mac, I found this article:

    http://www.atpeaz.com/index.php/2012/using-unsupported-bluetooth-4-0-usb-dongle-with-os-x/

    According to System Information, my dongle has the same chip like the one in the article mentioned (BCM20702A0). The guide is written for Mountain Lion and I figured out some differences between ML and Yosemite inside the Info.plist file:

    - the String com.apple.driver.BroadcomUSBBluetoothHCIController in ML is now called com.apple.iokit.BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport in Yosemite

    - the String BroadcomUSBBluetoothHCIController in ML is called BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport in Yosemite

    Everything else seems to be the same. I considered these minor changes and did everything the guide said but I just didn't get my dongle to work. Every time I modify the kext-file and install it via Kext Tool, the Bluetooth icon in the menubar gets a zig-zag-line on it. Clicking it reveals a grayed-out item called "Bluetooth Not Available".

    Is somebody using a third-party USB dongle on the Mac without having any drivers from the manufacturer?
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    I would suggest this dongle, it's pricey but you get what you pay for.
     
  3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #3
    Have you tried it in Yosemite?
     
  4. crjackson2134, Sep 30, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2014

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Another user here has one (in fact I think he got the very first one). He reports it works fine in Yosemite.

    It's best to ask MacVidCards about any specifics. I've purchased other BT/WiFi devices from him. Excellent quality, excellent customer service, PERFECT compatibility.

    If you want to ask a user/customer, just contact flowrider. Check this thread.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    I'm the user Mr. Jackson is referring to. Yes, everything works fine in Yosemite.

    Lou
     
  6. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #6
    What model Mac do you have? I am running a late 2011 MBP. I am interested in the handoff feature to the MAC. Did you also have to get a the special wifi ac card?

    Edited to add: I see from the other thread, that you have a MacPro.

    ----------

    Thanks for the link.
     
  7. Baklava thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Baklava

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #7
    I would like to use the dongle I currently have.
     
  8. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #8
    You will need to enable dev mode in Yosemite to do any kext modding
     
  9. Baklava, Oct 1, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2014

    Baklava thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Baklava

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #9
    Well... This is not my question either...

    EDIT:
    This is an old entry inside the file System > Library > Extensions > IOBluetoothFamily.kext > Contents > PlugIns > BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport.kext > Contents > Info.plist

    Code:
    		<key>PID 156 0x9C VID 1118 0x45E</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
    			<string>com.apple.iokit.BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport</string>
    			<key>Dongles</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>Microsoft</key>
    				<string>Bluetooth 2.0 USB</string>
    			</dict>
    			<key>IOClass</key>
    			<string>BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport</string>
    			<key>IOProviderClass</key>
    			<string>IOUSBDevice</string>
    			<key>idProduct</key>
    			<integer>156</integer>
    			<key>idVendor</key>
    			<integer>1118</integer>
    		</dict>

    And I modified it with all values given by System Information under Hardware > USB

    Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 19.24.48.png

    Code:
    		<key>PID [B]8680[/B] [B]0x21e8[/B] VID [B]2652 0x0a5c[/B]</key>
    		<dict>
    			<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
    			<string>com.apple.iokit.BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport</string>
    			<key>Dongles</key>
    			<dict>
    				<key>Microsoft</key>
    				<string>Bluetooth 2.0 USB</string>
    			</dict>
    			<key>IOClass</key>
    			<string>BroadcomBluetoothHostControllerUSBTransport</string>
    			<key>IOProviderClass</key>
    			<string>IOUSBDevice</string>
    			<key>idProduct</key>
    			<integer>[B]8680[/B]</integer>
    			<key>idVendor</key>
    			<integer>[B]2652[/B]</integer>
    		</dict>
    And I still don't know why this shows up in the menubar:

    Screen Shot 2014-10-01 at 19.21.54.png
     
  10. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #10
    If you don't put it into dev mode, the second you make a single change to a kext it stops loading. With or without fixing permissions.

    In system profiler you can see extensions and whether they loaded or not and if not, why
     
  11. Baklava thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Baklava

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    I did that by using the Kext Tool. But I also mentioned that in my first post.
     
  12. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #12
    Please find someone who can translate what I have been typing more clearly for you.

    I think that you are missing some crucial pieces of information.

    Kext Tool has nothing to do with dev mode.

    This will be SO MUCH SIMPLER when you understand this
     

Share This Page