BlueTooth and Wi-Fi interference?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by big_malk, Mar 26, 2008.

  1. big_malk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    Recently my Bluetooth has been a pain in the... erm... posterior. I changed the batteries in my new apple keyboard today and since then it has regularly dropped out and disconnected, thankfully it reconnects its self pretty quickly. My BT MightyMouse regularly becomes jittery and delayed for about 30 seconds or so at a time. Very annoying.

    It my or may not be related, but I've read about Wi-Fi and Bluetooth interfering now and then.

    I was copying files from My mac pro connected by Wi-Fi(n) to through an airport extreme to an iMac connected over Ethernet(100Mb). The average rate was around 8-900KB, but about every 20 seconds it spiked to around 3MB for less than a second. I didn't look at the speeds, but playing a video over my network from Mac Pro to MacBook Pro wasn't much fun either because it kept stalling.

    I've had issues with my BT mouse before but never this frequent, and I don't think my Wi-Fi has been remotely unreliable before.


    If there is something interfering is there anyway I can find out? Like monitoring anything the Wi-Fi picks up whether its garbage or not?

    Thanks
     
  2. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #2
    This might help. It sorted all my bluetooth issues, from instability to range.
     
  3. big_malk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    Hmm I usually like the chance to fiddle about inside my Mac Pro, but I don't like the sound of swapping wires about inside when its worked almost perfectly for months up until now!
    But if you say its worked for you (and so many others) I guess its a tried and tested method so my mac isn't in any real danger, I think I'll try it tomorrow.
    Thanks for the advice.
     
  4. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #4
    If it turns out that's not your issue, you can always put them back.
     
  5. big_malk thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    Well, I tried to follow those instructions, but the first thing I noticed was it had already been done!!
    I bought my Mac Pro second hand off eBay, so I assume the person I bought it from had trouble with it at some point and sorted it out.

    I was going to try changing it back, following those instructions in reverse, but only one wire is labelled, so I don't want to risk getting muddled up and putting them places they don't ought to go!

    I've not had any problems with reception, I can type perfectly from the other side of my house, so I didn't think this was the problem anyway.
     
  6. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #6
    My bad. It sounds like you're right. Yours is a "new" problem.
     

Share This Page