Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macbook41

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 28, 2006
Maryland
I am new to Macs, I have heard a lot of great things about them so I decided to get a macbook in September and give it a try. I absolutely love it but my bluetooth doesn't work anymore. When I click the bluetooth icon, I get the menu and when I either click "send file" or "browse device," absolutely nothing happens! It won't let me send anything to my phone or anyone elses phone. I checked my dock and their is nothing their, I checked to see if my bluetooth was on, it was. It is discoverable and I can also bluetooth videos, music and pictures from my phone to my computer so I know it works. I have no clue what the heck is going on, can anyone help me??? :confused:

macbook41

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 28, 2006
Maryland
Did you take it to an Apple Store? I have one near me and I am thinking about taking it there tonight. But it is so weird because it was working fine a few days ago and now nothing. I bet it is something so simple and I just can't figure it out. You could send files over the finder and the sercices menu? I don't understand.

Gee

macrumors 65816
Feb 27, 2004
London, UK
I have exact the same problem! :(
I still could send files over the finder and the services menu, but the bluetooth icon doesnt work...

The 'send file' item in the blue tooth menu should open a program called bluetooth file exchange, which is found in the utilities folder (which itself is in the applications folder). Have a check and make sure this program is still in there, and that it works when you double click it.

macbook41

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 28, 2006
Maryland
I checked and I have a utilities folder but nothing in it. I think I may have deleted it thinking I didn't need it! Is it possible I just deleted my bluetooth? If so, is it possible to get it back?

Gee