Bluetooth not available

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by myautocadguide, Dec 6, 2017.

  1. myautocadguide macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #1
    Hi,

    I am seeing this problem for a while - Bluetooth not available and along with that whenever I change my settings it returned to old setting when I restart my Macbook Pro.

    Anyone please!

    Thank you.
     
  2. Poki macrumors 65816

    Poki

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    #2
    What do you mean by "not available"? Are you not able to turn it on? This could be a variety of things, worst case would be a defective bluetooth module. Did you already try doing a PRAM reset?
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    First, it would sure help if you told us what model MBPro you have and what year it was made -- and what version of the OS you're using.

    Suggestions and thoughts:

    Open System Information (utilities folder) and click "Bluetooth" (upper left).
    What does it tell you on the right?

    It should show -something there-.

    If it just gives you something like "Bluetooth not available", it could be either:
    - hardware (not sure if the MBPro has a removable BT module or not)
    OR
    - software (drivers for BT not loading at bootup, or perhaps they're missing).

    Poki's suggestion about a PRAM reset is a good one.
     
  4. myautocadguide thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #4
    Hi,

    I am using Macbook pro 13" early 2011
    OS: High Sierra

    So far I tried following ways till now but nothing worked out.

    1. PRAM that is shutdown and restart by pressing command + option + P + R
    2. SMC restart by pressing Shift + control + option then power.
    3. Deleting com.apple.bluetooth.plst file from library

    Weird thing is when I delete the 3rd step file completely and restart computer it again appeared there.

    This happened after upgrading OS to High Sierra

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Poki macrumors 65816

    Poki

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    #5
    Since it happened after updating to High Sierra, doing a fresh install might be a good option (don't forget to backup your data!).
     
  6. myautocadguide thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #6
    Can you tell me how to do fresh installation?
     
  7. Poki macrumors 65816

    Poki

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    #7
    After you've created a full backup using Time Machine or something similar on an external hard drive, hold cmd + r while booting. Choose the hard disk utility there and format your hard drive. After that, choose reinstall macOS from the menu.

    Apple explains it here in more detail:

    https://support.apple.com/HT201314
     
  8. myautocadguide thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    #8
    Thanks Poki

    cheers!
     

Share This Page