Bluetooth

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Rugester, Jul 19, 2010.

  1. Rugester macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #1
    I have a macbook pro and just replaced the hard drive and before i did that I had bluetooth up and working. With the new hard drive installed, I no longer have the bluetooth option in the preferences
     
  2. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    The actual Bluetooth preferences are missing from System Preferences?

    What Mac OS X version do you use and how did you transfer the OS and your data from the old HDD to the new HDD?



    A more descriptive and precise thread title will help cater to the right audience and get you more responses. (see rule #3 under Minor Problems)
    To edit your thread title, just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the "Go Advanced" button below your message.

    Have you also taken a look at MRoogle, since that question may have been asked several times?


    Example: Bluetooth preferences missing from System Preferences
     
  4. Rugester thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #4
    I am using os x 10.6. I have the MacBook Pro 15"
     
  5. Rugester thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
  6. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Open System Profiler and see if the computer recognizes a Bluetooth chip
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    Which version to be exact?

    What about this?

     
  8. Rugester thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #8
    I no longer have a system profiler. I opened the bluetooth icon and it said I didnt have the bluetooth installed on this computer. It worked before i changed the HD
     
  9. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    What do you mean you don't have System Profiler?
     
  10. Rugester thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #10
    System Preferences has nothing for bluetooth. V Mac OS X Snow Leopard 10.6

    The profiler Icon was at the bottom of my screen and I restarted it and now the icon is now gone. I have the system preferences but not profile
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #11
    To see if Bluetooth is still there:
    Macintosh HD / Applications / Utilities / System Profiler
    or
    :apple: > About This Mac ... > More Info...
    or
    Spotlight (CMD+SPACEBAR) > "System Profiler" (without the "").

    On the left side of the System Profiler is a hardware section, select Bluetooth there.

    What about a reinstall of Mac OS X? Do you still have the old HDD?

    Btw, to find out what version of Mac OS X you have: :apple: > About This Mac.
     
  12. Corndog5595 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #12
    What? Lol
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Rugester thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    #13
    Ok, under hardware, bluetooth, No information found
     
  14. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #14
    A variant of this has happened to me.

    How to fix:

    1. Shut down the computer.
    2. Locate the following keys on the keyboard: Command, Option, P, and R. You will need to hold these keys down simultaneously in step 4.
    3. Turn on the computer.
    4. Press and hold the Command-Option-P-R keys. You must press this key combination before the gray screen appears.
    5. Hold the keys down until the computer restarts and you hear the startup sound for the second time.
    6. Release the keys.
     
  15. djasterix macrumors 6502a

    djasterix

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Location:
    Paradise City
    #15
    Reset PRAM, if it doesn't work then reinstall SL
     

Share This Page